Indian Air Force Units Database

Flying Unit

The first Indian Air Force unit raised was No.1 Squadron, Indian Air Force on 1st April 1933. Since then a number of Squadrons, Flights and Units were raised spanning the number range 1-224. With the exception of a few SA-2 Squadrons raised in the mid 60s, all other Squadrons operated either fixed wing aircraft or helicopters.

●No. 103 Flight
●No. 133 Helicopter Flight
●No. 142 SSS Flight
●No.121 Helicopter Unit
Air Defence Unit

The Air Defence Missile Squadrons and UAV Squadrons. IAF initially had SA-2 and later SA-3 (Pechora), Igla and recently the Akash Missile systems

●UAV Technical Flight
●No. 34 Squadron
●No. 53 Squadron
●No. 58 Squadron
●No. 60 Squadron
●No. 61 Squadron
●No. 62 Squadron
●No. 63 Squadron
●No. 64 Squadron
●No. 65 Squadron
●No. 66 Squadron
●No. 67 Squadron
●No. 68 Squadron
●No. 69 Squadron
●No. 70 Squadron
●No. 71 Squadron
●No. 73 Squadron
●No. 2201 Squadron
●No. 2203 Squadron
●No. 2204 Squadron
●No. 2205 Squadron
●No. 2206 Squadron
●No. 2207 Squadron
●No. 2208 Squadron
●No. 2211 Squadron
●No. 2215 Squadron
●No. 2216 Squadron
●No. 2218 Squadron
●No. 2219 Squadron
●No. 2220 Squadron
●No. 2221 Squadron
●No. 2223 Squadron
●No. 2225 Squadron
●No. 2226 Squadron
●No. 2227 Squadron
●No. 2232 Squadron
●No. 2251 Squadron
●No. 2252 Squadron
●No. 2254 Squadron
●No. 2256 Squadron
●No. 2257 Squadron
●No. 2258 Squadron
●No. 2301 Flight
●No. 2302 Flight
●No. 2303 Flight
●No. 2304 Flight
●No. 2306 Flight
●No. 2307 Flight
●No. 2308 Flight
●No. 2309 Flight
●No. 2310 Flight
●No. 3002 Squadron
●No. 3004 Squadron
●No. 3005 Squadron
●No.34 Squadron
●No.2213 Squadron
Signal Unit

Signal Units, Signal Squadrons, TRUs refer to the various Air Defence Radar, Communication and Electronic Warfare units that are spread across the length and breadth of the Country

●27 Signal Unit
●255 Signal Unit
●272 Signal Unit
●750 Signal Unit
●773 Signal Unit
●793 Signal Unit
●830 Signal Unit
●857 Signal Unit
Air Force Bases & Stations

Bases are typically Static Geographical Locations that host other lodger units. These include Wings, Forward Base Support Units (FBSU), Care& Maintenance Units, MEMUs and other Air Force Stations. These are commanded by a Station Commander or an AOC (Air Officer Commanding)

●2 Forward Base Support Unit
●3 Forward Base Support Unit
●9 Forward Base Support Unit
●12 Care and Maintenance Unit
●14 Care and Maintenance Unit
●AFS Jalahalli
●AFS Mumbai

The IAF currently has five operational commands, each of which is headed by an AOC-in-C (Air Officer Commander-in-Chief) with the rank of Air Marshal and two additional commands - Training Command and Maintenance Command. IAF Air Marshals also command tri-services commands such as Andaman & Nicobar Command and Strategic Forces Command

Flying Training & Institution

Various Flight training and specialist institutions involving fixed wing and rotary wing aircraft. Some of these institutions have since been disbanded or renamed.

●Air Force Academy
●Fighter Training Wing
●Fixed Wing Training Faculty
●No.1 Air Force Academy
●No.2 Air Force Academy
●No. 2 Transport Training Wing
●No.1 Jet Training Wing
Ground Training & Institution

Various training and specialist institutions for Technical, Administrative and Medical branches

●Medical Training Centre
●Air Force Technical College
●National Defence Academy
●National Defence College
●3 TETTRA School
●5 TETTRA School
●6 TETTRA School
●7 TETTRA School
●10 TETTRA School
●11 TETTRA School
●12 TETTRA School
●15 TETTRA School
●16 TETTRA School