Southern Air Command

Date Raised : 1984-06-18 Location : Trivandrum
Southern Air Command with its Headquarters at Trivandrum was born on 19 Jul 84 out of the changed geopolitical situation around Southern peninsula. The need was felt to establish a full fledged Operational Air Command covering the geopolitical area of peninsular India extending to 18 deg N including the Andaman and Nicobar Islands in the Bay of Bengal and Lakshadweep islands in the Arabian sea. Headquarters Southern Air Command was setup at Trivandrum at "Belhaven Palace", an old palace of Maharaja of Travancore located in the heart of Thiruvananthapuram city. The construction of permanent Command Headquarters was completed and the Headquarters moved from Belhaven Palace to Akkulam on 8 Aug 1996. In 1984 the command had only five lodger Unitss and that has grown to eleven over a period of time
 Read Detailed History

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
18 Jun 84 to 30 Nov 86Air Marshal Terence Joseph Desa3863 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Dec 86 to 30 Sep 87Air Marshal Rajagopal Sriramulu Naidu4090 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
21 Dec 87 to 31 Oct 89Air Marshal Gandharva Sen4429 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
07 Nov 89 to 31 Mar 91Air Marshal Suresh Chand4585 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
13 May 91 to 30 Apr 92Air Marshal Sukh Dev Mohan4789 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 May 92 to 31 Jul 93Air Marshal Ravinder Nath Bharadwaj5001 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
03 Sep 93 to 31 Mar 95Air Marshal Sherwin Derek Leslie Tully5270 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 May 95 to 30 Apr 97Air Marshal Bharat Kumar5787 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 May 97 to 02 Jan 99Air Marshal Krishnan Narayan Nair6346 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
15 Jan 99 to 31 Aug 00Air Marshal Darshan Singh Basra6519 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Sep 00 to 12 Mar 02Air Marshal Manjit Singh Sekhon6756 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
18 Mar 02 to 31 Dec 02Air Marshal Tej Mohan Asthana7672 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Jan 03 to 31 Dec 03Air Marshal Anil Kumar Trikha8436 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
02 Jan 04 to 30 Sep 04Air Marshal Sunil Kumar Malik9002 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Aug 04 to 31 Aug 06Air Marshal Sharad Yeshwant Savur10525 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Sep 06 to 31 Jan 07Air Marshal Padamjit Singh Ahluwalia11631 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Feb 07 to 31 Mar 08Air Marshal Yashwant Rao Rane12210 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Apr 08 to 30 Sep 08Air Marshal Suresh Chandra Mukul12930 F(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Oct 08 to 31 Aug 09Air Marshal Sadhashivan Radhakrishnan12408 GD(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Sep 09 to 30 Jun 11Air Marshal Sumit Mukerji12925 F(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Jul 11 to 31 Jul 12Air Marshal Satish Pal Singh13770 F(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Aug 12 to 31 Dec 13Air Marshal Rakesh Kumar Jolly14083 F(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Jan 14 to 31 May 15Air Marshal Arun Purushottam Garud14692 F(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Jun 15 to 31 Jul 16Air Marshal Jasbir Singh Walia15684 F(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Aug 16 to 28 Feb 17Air Marshal Sanderraman Neelakantan15184 F(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Mar 17 to 31 Jul 18Air Marshal Rakesh Kumar Singh Bhadauria16026 F(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Aug 18 to 31 Oct 19Air Marshal Balakrishnan Suresh16206 F(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Nov 19 to 31 Jan 21Air Marshal Amit Tiwari16806 F(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Feb 21 to 24 Sep 21Air Marshal Manavendra Singh16983 F(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
03 Oct 21 to 31 Mar 23Air Marshal Jonnalagedda Chalapati17358 F(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum
01 Apr 23 to Air Marshal Balakrishnan Manikantan18291 F(P)AOC-in-CTrivandrum

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.