South Western Air Command

Date Raised : 1980-07-23 Location : Jodhpur
Originally established as No 1 Operational Group at Jodhpur on 21 Sep 1972, it was subsequently rechristened as the South Western Air Command on 23 Jul 1980. The operational area, carved out of the Western Air Command, included most of Rajasthan and the entire Gujarat. In a major expansion in the mid eighties, the Unitss located at Pune and Mumbai were transferred from Central Air Command. Goa area of Southern Air Command was also added to the jurisdiction of this Command. Thus, the entire south western area of the country came under the air defence umbrella of SWAC. Keeping in view the increasing operational importance of the command, it was decided by Air HQ to move the Command Headquarters from Jodhpur to Gandhinagar. The new HQ was inaugurated on 1 May 1998 .
 Read Detailed History
Unit previously existed as 1 Op Group (Jodhpur)

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
23 Jul 80 to 30 Jun 83Air Marshal Jagdish Raj Bhasin3591 GD(P)AOC-in-CJodhpur
01 Jul 83 to 31 Oct 84Air Marshal Chandra Kant Viswanath Gole3652 GD(P)AOC-in-CJodhpur
01 Nov 84 to 06 Jan 86Air Marshal Subramaniam Raghavendran3840 GD(P)AOC-in-CJodhpur
08 Jan 86 to 28 Feb 87Air Marshal Prem Pal Singh3871 GD(P)AOC-in-CJodhpur
01 Mar 87 to 28 Jul 88Air Marshal Surendra Kumar Mehra4197 GD(P)AOC-in-CJodhpur
01 Aug 88 to 31 Mar 92Air Marshal Partha Kumar Dey4404 GD(P)AOC-in-CJodhpur
01 Apr 92 to 30 Sep 93Air Marshal Brijesh Dhar Jayal4972 GD(P)AOC-in-CJodhpur
06 Oct 93 to 03 Jun 94Air Marshal Satish Kumar Sareen5370 GD(P)AOC-in-CJodhpur
06 Jun 94 to 31 Jan 96Air Marshal Kodendera Cariappa Cariappa5376 GD(P)AOC-in-CJodhpur
01 Feb 96 to 30 Nov 97Air Marshal Sharadkumar Ramakrishna Deshpande5694 GD(P)AOC-in-CJodhpur
01 Dec 97 to 31 Oct 99Air Marshal Srinivasapuram Krishnaswamy6338 GD(P)AOC-in-CJohdpur/ Gandhinagar
01 Nov 99 to 31 Jul 01Air Marshal Vinod Kumar Bhatia6497 GD(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
01 Aug 01 to 31 Jan 03Air Marshal Michael McMahon7399 GD(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
01 Feb 03 to 14 Nov 03Air Marshal Shashindra Pal Tyagi8130 GD(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
17 Nov 03 to 30 Jun 04Air Marshal Adi Rustomji Ghandhi7722 GD(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
12 Jul 04 to 28 Feb 06Air Marshal Satish Kumar Jain9716 GD(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
01 Mar 06 to 30 Apr 07Air Marshal Pramod Kumar Mehra11581 GD(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
01 May 07 to 30 Sep 09Air Marshal Kanwar Dalinderjit Singh12403 GD(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
01 Oct 09 to 31 Dec 10Air Marshal Paramjit Singh Bhangu12932 F(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
01 Jan 11 to 28 Feb 13Air Marshal Anjan Kumar Gogoi13382 F(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
01 Mar 13 to 31 Oct 14Air Marshal Daljit Singh14553 F(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
01 Nov 14 to 31 May 15Air Marshal Birender Singh Dhanoa15405 F(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
01 Jun 15 to 30 Sep 18Air Marshal Ravinder Kumar Dhir15678 F(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
01 Oct 18 to 30 Sep 19Air Marshal Harjit Singh Arora16557 F(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
01 Oct 19 to 30 Apr 21Air Marshal Surendra Kumar Ghotia16575 F(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
01 Apr 21 to 30 Sep 21Air Marshal Sandeep Singh17312 F(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
04 Oct 21 to 30 Apr 23Air Marshal Vikram Singh17699 F(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar
01 May 23 to Air Marshal Narmdeshwar Tiwari18270 F(P)AOC-in-CGandhinagar

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.