Eastern Air Command

Date Raised : 1959-12-07 Location : Shillong
No 1 Operational Group was upgraded to Eastern Air Command on 1 Dec 1959 at Calcutta. During the Indo-China Ccnflict of 1962, practical experience highlighted the difficulty of Kolkata being the location of Eastern Air Command. In order to have more effective operational control over the region of the north-east, the Command Headquarters was shifted to Shillong on 1 Jun 63.
 Read Detailed History

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
07 Dec 59 to 28 Dec 61Air Vice Marshal Kundan Lal Sondhi1566 GD(P)AOC-in-CCalcutta
03 Mar 62 to 01 Jan 63Air Vice Marshal Kanwar Jaswant Singh1587 GD(P)AOC-in-CCalcutta
14 Jan 63 to 09 Jun 63Air Vice Marshal Shivdev Singh1595 F(P)AOC-in-CCalcutta
10 Jun 63 to 04 Aug 63Air Vice Marshal Ramaswami Rajaram1573 GD(P)AOC-in-CShillong
05 Aug 63 to 30 Sep 64Air Vice Marshal Minoo Merwan Engineer1614 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Oct 64 to 30 Sep 66Air Vice Marshal Yeshwant Vinayak Malse1616 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
28 Oct 66 to 31 Mar 68Air Vice Marshal Ranjan Dutt1594 GD(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Apr 68 to 23 Mar 71Air Marshal Hirendra Nath Chatterjee1620 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
24 Mar 71 to 31 Mar 73Air Marshal Hari Chand Dewan1598 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Apr 73 to 21 Apr 76Air Marshal Maurice Barker1691 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
24 Apr 76 to 12 Aug 78Air Marshal Lal Singh Grewal2337 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
04 Sep 78 to 02 Jan 81Air Marshal Lakshman Madhav Katre3117 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
03 Jan 81 to 26 Feb 83Air Marshal Malcolm Shirley Dundas Wollen3641 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Mar 83 to 30 Nov 83Air Marshal Douglas George King-Lee3040 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Dec 83 to 31 Oct 84Air Marshal Minoo Jehangir Dotiwalla3839 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
05 Nov 84 to 31 Dec 87Air Marshal Kapil Dev Chadha3845 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
08 Feb 88 to 31 Jan 91Air Marshal Man Mohan Sinha4408 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
11 Feb 91 to 05 Oct 91Air Marshal Rajendra Kumar Dhawan4736 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
07 Oct 91 to 30 Mar 92Air Marshal Brijesh Dhar Jayal4972 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 May 92 to 31 Jan 95Air Marshal Dushyant Singh5048 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Feb 95 to 31 Mar 96Air Marshal Janak Kapur5585 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Apr 96 to 03 Jan 99Air Marshal Prithvi Singh Brar6007 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
04 Jan 99 to 30 Nov 00Air Marshal Krishnan Narayan Nair6346 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Dec 00 to 20 Jan 02Air Marshal Satish Govind Inamdar7189 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
21 Jan 02 to 31 Oct 04Air Marshal Manek Bomanshaw Madon7681 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Nov 04 to 21 Aug 05Air Marshal Avinash Deodata Joshi10886 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
05 Sep 05 to 30 Mar 07Air Marshal Fali Homi Major11442 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Apr 07 to 31 Dec 07Air Marshal Pranab Kumar Barbora12375 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Jan 08 to 31 Dec 09Air Marshal Shiv Kumar Bhan12510 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Jan 10 to 31 Jul 11Air Marshal Krishan Kumar Nohwar13132 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Aug 11 to 30 Nov 12Air Marshal Simhakutty Varthaman13606 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Dec 12 to 31 Dec 13Air Marshal Ravi Kant Sharma14088 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Jan 14 to 31 Dec 14Air Marshal Rakesh Kumar Jolly14083 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Jan 15 to 31 Aug 15Air Marshal Shirish Baban Deo15681 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Sep 15 to 31 Dec 16Air Marshal Chandrashekharan Hari Kumar15881 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Jan 17 to 30 Sep 18Air Marshal Anil Khosla15871 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Oct 18 to 28 Feb 19Air Marshal Raghunath Nambiar16378 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong
01 Mar 19 to Air Marshal Rajiv Dayal Mathur16772 F(P)AOC-in-CShillong

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.