PSO: Administration, Air HQ

Date Raised : 1940-07-21
In 1940, a new role of Senior officer in charge Administration was created at Air Headquarters. All administrative functions such as Personnel, Equipment, organisation, engineering were under this officer. Soon therrafter the tole was redisgnated as AOA (Air Officer in charge Administration). This system continued till 31 Jan 1949. Around this time, the directorates of equipment and technical were transferred out and the role wss briefly redesignated as Air Officer In Charge Personnel and Org between 1949 and 1958. In 1958, it reverted to its old designation of AOA. In 1980 the Directorates relating to Personnel were transferred to a newly created post (AOP) and AOA was left with the charge of works, Org, Accounts, medical, JAG amongst others. This continues to date.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
21 Jul 40 to 31 Dec 41Group Captain A P LedgerRAFSOADelhi
10 Nov 41 to 31 Mar 42Wing Commander K A MeekRAFSOADelhi
02 Apr 42 to 15 Sep 43Air Commodore Alfred Conrad CollierRAFAOADelhi
16 Sep 43 to 15 Nov 43Air Vice Marshal Robert Victor GoddardRAFAOADelhi
16 Nov 43 to 17 Jul 45Air Commodore H J G E ProudRAFAOADelhi
18 Jul 45 to 22 Oct 45Air Commodore Cyril Douglas AdamsRAFAOADelhi
01 Apr 46 to 31 May 46Air Vice Marshal Robert Linton RaggRAFAOADelhi
01 Jun 46 to 21 Nov 46Air Vice Marshal Hugh WalmsleyRAFAOADelhi
29 Nov 46 to 14 Aug 47Air Vice Marshal Allan Lancelot Addison Perry-KeeneRAFAOADelhi
15 Aug 47 to 27 Sep 48Air Commodore Aspy Merwan Engineer1554 GD(P)AOADelhi
15 Nov 48 to 31 Jan 49Air Commodore Diwan Atma Ram Nanda1562 GD(P)AOADelhi
01 Feb 49 to 11 Dec 52Air Commodore Diwan Atma Ram Nanda1562 GD(P)AOC (P&O)Delhi
12 Dec 52 to 08 Dec 55Air Commodore Arjan Singh1577 GD(P)AOC (P&O)Delhi
09 Dec 55 to 11 May 58Air Commodore Ravinder Hari Darshan Singh1558 GD(P)AOC (P&O)Delhi
28 May 58 to 06 Dec 59Air Commodore Erlic Wilmot Pinto1593 GD(P)AOADelhi
23 Jan 60 to 09 May 61Air Commodore Hirendra Nath Chatterjee1620 GD(P)AOADelhi
10 May 61 to 31 Dec 62Air Vice Marshal Arjan Singh1577 GD(P)AOADelhi
01 Jan 63 to 10 Nov 66Air Vice Marshal Mohan Swaroop Chaturvedi1592 GD(O)AOADelhi
11 Nov 66 to 08 Aug 69Air Vice Marshal Yeshwant Vinayak Malse1616 GD(P)AOADelhi
30 Aug 69 to 31 Dec 71Air Vice Marshal Teja Singh Virk1621 GD(O)AOADelhi
01 Jan 72 to 01 Jan 74Air Marshal Teja Singh Virk1621 GD(O)AOADelhi
02 Jan 74 to 26 Jun 74Air Marshal Idris Hasan Latif1804 GD(P)AOADelhi
01 Jul 74 to 21 Jan 77Air Marshal Gian Dev Sharma1742 GD(P)AOADelhi
01 Feb 77 to 10 Feb 79Air Marshal George Kanishtkumar John2132 GD(P)AOADelhi
01 Mar 79 to 22 Feb 81Air Marshal Saroj Jena3157 GD(P)AOADelhi
23 Feb 81 to 19 Oct 81Air Marshal Erasseri Pathayapurayil Radhakrishnan Nair3837 GD(N)AOADelhi
10 Feb 82 to 28 Feb 83Air Marshal Kapil Dev Chadha3845 GD(P)AOADelhi
01 Mar 83 to 31 Aug 85Air Marshal Shri Krishna Chandra Gupta3568 A&SDAOADelhi
01 Sep 85 to 31 Dec 85Air Marshal Madan Lal Sethi4009 GD(N)AOADelhi
10 Feb 86 to 27 Jul 86Air Marshal Jagdish Kumar Seth4403 GD(P)AOADelhi
29 Jul 86 to 27 Jan 88Air Marshal Krishnaswamy Subramanian4213 GD(N)AOADelhi
28 Jan 88 to 31 Jan 91Air Marshal Parduman Kumar Jain4366 A&SDAOADelhi
11 Apr 91 to 23 Dec 91Air Marshal Naresh Kumar5057 GD(P)AOADelhi
13 Jul 92 to 31 Oct 95Air Marshal Mohinder Kumar Anand5498 A&SDAOADelhi
03 Nov 95 to 30 Jun 01Air Marshal Dinesh Chandra Dhyani6590 A&SDAOADelhi
01 Jul 01 to 31 Dec 03Air Marshal Ramesh Chandra Mahadik8570 A&SDAOADelhi
22 Mar 04 to 31 Jul 06Air Marshal Harendrajit Singh Garkal11780 A&SDAOADelhi
01 Aug 06 to 30 Nov 12Air Marshal Jyoti Narayan Burma13219 ADMAOADelhi
01 Dec 12 to 31 Jan 13Air Marshal Naresh Verma13235 ADMAOADelhi
01 Feb 13 to 30 Apr 15Air Marshal Herikudru Babu Rajaram14939 ADMAOADelhi
01 May 15 to 31 Jul 16Air Marshal Bipin Bihari Prasad Sinha15748 ADMAOADelhi
01 Aug 16 to 31 Jul 17Air Marshal Mahesh Kumar Malik15743 ADMAOADelhi
01 Aug 17 to 31 Oct 18Air Marshal Hemant Narayan Bhagwat16423 ADMAOADelhi
01 Nov 18 to 31 Dec 19Air Marshal Pradeep Padmakar Bapat17227 ADMAOADelhi
01 Jan 20 to 31 Jan 21Air Marshal Mothlamnet Sabari Gireen Menon17035 ADMAOADelhi
01 Feb 21 to 31 Jan 22Air Marshal Vijay Pal Singh Rana17736 ADMAOADelhi
01 Feb 22 to 31 May 23Air Marshal Krishnaswamy Anantharaman17882 ADMAOADelhi
01 Jun 23 to Air Marshal Rajesh Kumar Anand18892 ADMAOADelhi

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.