Western Air Command

The origin of the Western Air Command can be traced back to the nascent years of independent India, when the various formations of the Air Force were organised into two groups. These were the No 1 Operational Group which controlled all the flying units including the flying training units and the No2 Training Group responsible for the entire spectrum of training activities (except flying training) in the IAF. On 22nd July 1949 the No 1 Operational Group was re- designated as the Operational Command. The Air Officer Commanding the Operational Command was then of the rank of an Air Commodore. This was upgraded to the rank of Air Vice Marshal in 1958 and later to the rank of Air Marshal. The Command assumed its present name of Headquarters Western Air Command on 10th June 1963, primarily as a consequence of formation of other operational commands and demarcation of specific areas of responsibility.  Read Detailed History

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
10 Jun 63 to 22 Nov 63Air Vice MarshalErlic Wilmot Pinto1593 GD(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
24 Nov 63 to 30 Sep 64Air Vice MarshalPratap Chandra Lal1567 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Oct 64 to 09 Jan 66Air Vice MarshalRamaswami Rajaram1573 GD(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
05 Mar 66 to 31 Jul 69Air Vice MarshalShivdev Singh1595 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
06 Aug 69 to 31 Mar 73Air MarshalMinoo Merwan Engineer1614 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Apr 73 to 31 Jan 76Air MarshalHrushikesh Moolgavkar1644 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Mar 76 to 03 Sep 78Air MarshalEdul Jahangir Dhatigara1899 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
04 Sep 78 to 31 Dec 80Air MarshalDilbagh Singh2998 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
05 Jan 81 to 28 Feb 83Air MarshalLakshman Madhav Katre3117 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Mar 83 to 03 Sep 84Air MarshalMalcolm Shirley Dundas Wollen3641 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Nov 84 to 02 Jul 85Air MarshalDenis Anthony Lafontaine3844 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
22 Aug 85 to 31 Jul 88Air MarshalMan Mohan Singh4023 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Aug 88 to 30 Apr 92Air MarshalPrithi Singh4480 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 May 92 to 30 Jul 93Air MarshalSwaroop Krishna Kaul4721 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
03 Sep 93 to 05 Jun 94Air MarshalPratap Rao5188 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
06 Jun 94 to 31 Jul 95Air MarshalSatish Kumar Sareen5370 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Aug 95 to 31 Mar 97Air MarshalAnil Yeshwant Tipnis5859 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Apr 97 to 31 Oct 99Air MarshalVinod Patney6125 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Nov 99 to 31 Jul 01Air MarshalSrinivasapuram Krishnaswamy6338 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Aug 01 to 28 Apr 02Air MarshalVinod Kumar Bhatia6497 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
29 Apr 02 to 16 Nov 03Air MarshalAdi Rustom Ghandhi7722 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
17 Nov 03 to 31 Dec 04Air MarshalShashindra Pal Tyagi8130 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Jan 05 to 31 Jan 07Air MarshalAvdesh Kumar Singh11005 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Feb 07 to 31 Dec 07Air MarshalPadamjit Singh Ahluwalia11631 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Jan 08 to 31 May 09Air MarshalPranab Kumar Barbora12375 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Jun 09 to 31 Dec 10Air MarshalNorman Anil Kumar Browne13129 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Jan 11 to 31 May 12Air MarshalDinesh Chandra Kumaria13366 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Jun 12 to 30 Jun 13Air MarshalArup Raha13910 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Jul 13 to 31 Aug 15Air MarshalSuneet Shripad Soman14681 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Sep 15 to 31 Dec 16Air MarshalShirish Baban Deo15681 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
01 Jan 17 to Air MarshalChandrashekharan Hari Kumar15881 F(P)AOC-in-CDelhi