No.45 Squadron Flying Daggers

Motto : Ajeeta Nabaha
Date Raised : 1960-02-15 Location : Sulur (Coimbatore)
No. 45 Squadron IAF was formed on 15 Feb 1960 with the British built De Havilland Vampire. The Squadron was christened as "Flying Daggers' with its motto being 'Ajeetakshay". The Squadron was the first to draw enemy blood when it took part in the Indo—Pak war of 1965 and was tasked with the first strike mission of the conflict, to be carried out on an armoured column in the Chhamb sector. After the war, the Squadron was re-equipped with the 'Gnat'. The squadron evolved over the rest of the century with the Mig-21 T-77 and went on to be a frontline Mig-21 Bis squadron. The Squadron drew blood again on '10 Aug 1999. when it shot down an intruding Atlantique aircraft of Pakistan Air Force in the Kutch sector. The Squadron was number plated in Dec 2002. On 01 Jul 2016, the ‘Flying Daggers’ became the first Squadron in the world to induct the indigenous Light Combat Aircraft ‘Tejas’, when it was resurrected in Bangalore. 45 Sqn relocated to its current base, AF Station Sulur on 01 Jul 2018. Since being equipped with Tejas aircraft, the unit has undertaken a number of Operational and National commitments, including Operational deployment post Balakot strikes in 2019. The unit has been at the forefront of showcasing indigenous aerospace capability by participating with Tejas ac at various international events including Aero India at Bangalore, LIMA-2019 at Langkawi, Malaysia, DEF EXPO 2020 at Lucknow and Sri Lankan Air Force Day 2021 in SriLanka.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
15 Feb 60 to 02 Sep 62Squadron Leader Mirgind Singh Grewal3481 GD(P)COPalam
03 Sep 62 to 13 Oct 63Squadron Leader Gunakar Kamalkar Bakhle4204 F(P)COAdampur
14 Oct 63 to 31 Mar 66Squadron Leader Sudesh Kumar Dahar4425 GD(P)COSarsawa/ Pune/ Patha
01 Apr 66 to 18 Jun 67Wing Commander Jagdish Raj Bhasin3591 F(P)COChandigarh
19 Jul 67 to 23 Nov 69Wing Commander Arun Kanti Mukherjee4416 F(P)COChandigarh
24 Nov 69 to 02 Mar 72Wing Commander Sudesh Kumar Anand4588 F(P)COChandigarh
03 Mar 72 to 18 Aug 74Wing Commander Edwin Godfrey Salins4796 F(P)COChandigarh/ Bareilly
19 Aug 74 to 30 Nov 76Wing Commander Ajoy Kumar Majumdar5071 F(P)COBareilly
30 Nov 76 to 31 Aug 79Wing Commander Sudesh Chand Khullar5605 F(P)COBareilly/ Hashimara
01 Sep 79 to 04 Aug 81Wing Commander Darshan Singh Basra6519 F(P)COHashimara/ Jamnagar
05 Aug 81 to 23 Oct 83Wing Commander Jeffrey D'Souza7432 F(P)COJamnagar
24 Oct 83 to 23 Jun 85Wing Commander Kurumthodathil Cherian Phillipose7702 F(P)COJamnagar
24 Jun 85 to 11 Sep 87Wing Commander Jagdish Singh Grewal10866 F(P)COJamnagar
12 Sep 87 to 17 Dec 89Wing Commander Ashok Kumar Brahmawar10889 F(P)CO
18 Dec 89 to 15 Dec 91Wing Commander Sadhashivan Radhakrishnan12408 F(P)CO
16 Dec 91 to 14 Nov 93Wing Commander Mohammed Haroon Zaki12775 F(P)CONaliya
15 Nov 93 to 23 Sep 95Wing Commander Priya Ranjan Sharma13927 F(P)CONaliya
24 Sep 95 to 09 Sep 97Wing Commander Anil Kumar Jain14565 F(P)CONaliya
10 Sep 97 to 31 Jan 00Wing Commander Umesh Shastri15698 F(P)CONaliya
01 Feb 01 to 01 Dec 02Wing Commander Harjit Singh Arora16557 F(P)CONaliya

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.