No.21 Squadron Ankush

Motto : Siddhivasti Saha Se (Success lies in courage)
Date Raised : 1965-10-16 Disbanded : 2015-03-31 Location : Halwara
21 Squadron, AF was formed on 16 October 1965 at 7 Wing, AF, to be equipped with Gnat Mk I aircraft. The Squadron initially flew aircraft borrowed from 2 Squadron, AF and 18 Squadron, AF, until on 14 May 66, when she got her first complement of ac. Thereafter the Squadron moved to 17 Wing, AF, Gorakhpur until the 1971 operations. The Squadron was visited by DASI in 72 and 75 and the Squadron moved to 7 C&MU at Bakshi Ka Talab and operated there til the time she was earmarked to be re-equipped with the Mig-21 BIS. On 1 December 1976, the Squadron moved out of C&MU to 2 Wing, AF Pune to be re-equipped with the MIG-21 BIS. The Squadron moved out from 33 Wing, AF where it had been located since 1 January 1987, to 12 Wing, AF. Sixteen fighter aircraft were ferried out on May 9-1, 1988.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
16 Oct 65 to Wing Commander Emanuel Raymond Fernandes3577 GD(P)COAmbala
01 Aug 67 to 01 Jan 69Wing Commander Jayaram Nilkanth Jatar4040 GD(P)COGorakhpur
01 Nov 70 to Wing Commander Sube Singh Malik4663 GD(P)COGorakhpur
01 Dec 73 to 23 Feb 76Wing Commander Satya Prakash4988 GD(P)COGorakhpur/ Bakshi Ka
24 Feb 76 to 06 Dec 76Wing Commander Bidyut Mukhuty5196 GD(P)COBakshi Ka Talab
07 Dec 76 to 18 Oct 79Wing Commander Dev Nath Rathore5780 GD(P)COPune
18 Oct 79 to 16 Nov 81Wing Commander Srinivas Anand Bhaskar Naidu7230 GD(P)COPune
16 Nov 81 to 01 Feb 82Wing Commander Dinesh Chander Nayyar8995 GD(P)COPune
01 Feb 82 to 06 Aug 84Wing Commander Harbans Singh Sahota7663 GD(P)COPune
06 Aug 84 to 07 Jul 86Wing Commander Rajkumar Joseph Williams9036 GD(P)COPune
07 Jul 86 to 22 Aug 88Wing Commander Har Prakash Singh Sidhu11051 GD(P)COPune/ Jamnagar
22 Aug 88 to 05 Nov 90Wing Commander Rajesh Lal11634 GD(P)COChandigarh
05 Nov 90 to 01 Dec 92Wing Commander Nirdosh Vatsyayan Tyagi12765 GD(P)COChandigarh
01 Dec 92 to 31 Oct 94Wing Commander Arun Vasudeo Thakur Desai13372 F(P)COChandigarh
31 Oct 94 to 01 Jan 96Wing Commander Ashok Dhar13940 F(P)COChandigarh
01 Jan 96 to 01 Jan 98Wing Commander Rajan Bhasin15006 F(P)COChandigarh
01 Jan 98 to 01 Nov 00Wing Commander Sunil Malhotra15719 F(P)COChandigarh
01 Jan 00 to 20 Dec 02Wing Commander Mugi Dhanraj16210 F(P)CO
21 Dec 02 to 02 Sep 04Wing Commander Tarun Banerjee16776 F(P)COChandigarh/ Sirsa
03 Sep 04 to Wing Commander Anil Sabharwal18553 F(P)CO
24 Jul 06 to Wing Commander Pushpendra Singh Nara20478 F(P)CO
Unknown to Wing Commander Prasant Sarad Wadodkar20741 F(P)CO

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.