Aircraft and Systems Testing Establishment

Date Raised : 1970-01-01 Location : Bengaluru
Aircraft & Systems Testing Establishment (ASTE) started its journey as Armament Testing Unit (ATU) in Kanpur in 1948. In 1957, it was formally raised as Aircraft and Armament Testing Unit (A&ATU) at Kanpur. On 23 August 1972, it was renamed as ASTE and moved to Bangalore in 1973 into the make shift hangars of HAL. As its name implies, ASTE evaluates aircraft and systems for induction into user organisations. Most new aircraft types and major airborne systems must have ASTE's stamp of approval to be considered fit for service in India. While many countries have testing facilities of one kind or the other, training of flight test personnel is not often imparted in them. ASTE's Air Force Test Pilots School (AFTPS) is only the fifth such institution in the world. This is not surprising for the world's fourth largest air force. The combination of flight testing and training makes ASTE Indian Air Force's mini-Edward's Air Force Base (USA) or Boscombe Down (UK)
 Read Detailed History
Aircraft Types operated over the years:
Unit previously existed as AATU

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Jan 70 to 01 Dec 72Group Captain Kapil Bhargava3939 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Dec 72 to 01 Feb 73Group Captain Chandra Kant Viswanath Gole3652 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Mar 73 to 01 Aug 74Air Commodore Chandra Kant Viswanath Gole3652 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Aug 74 to 30 Apr 75Group Captain Ripu Daman Sahni3867 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 May 75 to 01 Dec 77Air Commodore Ripu Daman Sahni3867 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Jan 78 to 01 Jul 79Air Commodore Partha Kumar Dey4404 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Jul 79 to 01 Sep 82Air Commodore Pirthi Singh4480 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Oct 82 to 02 Jan 85Air Commodore Palamadai Muthuswamy Ramachandran4973 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Feb 85 to 01 Jul 86Air Vice Marshal Partha Kumar Dey4404 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Aug 86 to 01 Feb 87Air Commodore Ajit Singh Lamba4877 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Mar 87 to 28 Apr 91Air Vice Marshal Ajit Singh Lamba4877 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
29 Apr 91 to 10 Jul 93Air Commodore Philip Rajkumar6748 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
11 Jul 93 to 01 Jan 96Air Commodore Subhash Chandra Rastogi8999 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Jan 96 to 31 Dec 96Air Commodore Akshay Kumar Thakur9724 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Jan 97 to 01 Jan 99Air Commodore Pramod Kumar Mehra11581 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Jan 99 to 01 Jan 01Air Commodore Parvez Hamilton Khokhar11860 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Jan 01 to 01 Mar 02Air Commodore Arvind Kumar Nagalia11633 GD(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Mar 02 to 01 Dec 04Air Commodore Anil Chopra13368 F(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Dec 04 to 01 Oct 06Air Commodore Priya Ranjan Sharma13927 F(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Dec 06 to 01 May 08Air Commodore Muthumanikam Matheswaran14104 F(P)CmdtBangalore
01 May 08 to 01 Dec 10Air Commodore Mathappan Jose14278 F(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Dec 10 to 27 Dec 11Air Commodore Balabhadra Radha Krishna17326 F(P)CmdtBangalore
28 Dec 11 to 30 Jun 14Air Vice Marshal Raghunath Nambiar16378 F(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Jul 14 to 30 Sep 16Air Vice Marshal Rajeev Hora17141 F(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Oct 16 to 31 Dec 18Air Vice Marshal Sandeep Singh17312 F(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Jan 19 to 31 May 20Air Vice Marshal Shridher Kishore Mohlah18259 F(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Jun 20 to 31 Dec 22Air Vice Marshal Jeetendra Mishra18575 F(P)CmdtBangalore
01 Jan 23 to Air Vice Marshal Tejpal Singh20724 F(P)CmdtBangalore

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.