9 Forward Base Support Unit

Date Raised : 1976-04-10 Disbanded : 1985-03-31 Location : Udhampur
The base is sited approximately 5 Km East of Udhampur town spread over 713 acres. A complete hill was blown up to pave the way for its 9000 ft runway, which was taken over on 01 Oct 1975. Even now, the northern end of the runway is guarded by a sentinel in the form of a hill, which permits the landings and take-offs for aircraft only n one direction. It was originally 9 FBSU that was raised on 1 April 1976. It was redisgnated as 39 Wing on 1 April 1985. Lodger Unitss are 153 HU, 132 FAC Flt, 901 SU, 711 SU, NACC and 603 Garud Flt.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
10 Apr 76 to 13 Jun 77Wing Commander Sukh Dev Mohan4789 GD(P)COUdhampur
14 Jun 77 to 09 Apr 79Wing Commander Ranbir Singh Rana5106 GD(P)COUdhampur
12 Apr 79 to 16 Feb 81Wing Commander Swadesh Chandra Sahni4901 GD(P)COUdhampur
25 May 81 to 24 May 83Wing Commander Surinder Kumar Mitroo7688 GD(P)COUdhampur
25 May 83 to 31 Mar 85Group Captain Subir Dey5309 GD(P)COUdhampur
Unit continued existence as 39 Wing

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.