No.59 Squadron Hornbills

Motto : Nishta Dhairya Parisramah (Loyalty Boldness and Hard work)
Date Raised : 1960-02-14 Location : Guwahati

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
14 Feb 60 to 07 Apr 62Squadron Leader Appasaheb Bhagwant Patil3242 GD(P)COJorhat
02 Apr 62 to 01 Feb 63Squadron Leader Percy Edward Harrington3239 GD(P)COJorhat/ Dinjan
26 Apr 63 to 13 Jun 65Squadron Leader Gursewak Singh Sidhu3418 GD(P)CODinjan
14 Jun 65 to 12 Jan 68Squadron Leader Krishna Kumar Gupta4621 GD(P)CODinjan/ Chabua
13 Jan 68 to 13 Aug 70Squadron Leader Austin Lester Mendanha4710 GD(P)COChabua
14 Aug 70 to 16 Dec 73Squadron Leader Ravindra Sahai5861 GD(P)COChabua
26 Jan 73 to 12 Mar 76Squadron Leader Jogendra Chandra Hazarika5869 GD(P)COChabua
13 Mar 76 to 20 Aug 78Squadron Leader Prakash Sadanand Kalalvar8950 GD(P)COChabua
21 Aug 78 to 23 Aug 81Squadron Leader Sudhir Diwakar Manjerakar9433 GD(P)COChabua
24 Aug 81 to 23 Jul 84Wing Commander Ashutosh Kumar Tripathi8686 GD(P)COChabua
13 Aug 84 to 07 Oct 84Squadron Leader Shiv Prakash Verma11353 GD(P)COChabua
08 Oct 84 to 18 May 86Wing Commander Shiv Prakash Verma11353 GD(P)COChabua
07 Aug 86 to 23 Nov 87Wing Commander Vijaykumar Vishnu Shrotriya9732 GD(P)COChabua/ Guwahati
24 Nov 87 to 16 May 90Wing Commander Tejinder Singh9535 GD(P)COGuwahati
21 May 90 to 23 May 93Wing Commander Bhupinder Lakhanpal11425 GD(P)COGuwahati
24 May 93 to 02 Jul 95Wing Commander Satish Pal Singh13770 F(P)COGuwahati
03 Jul 95 to 07 Jun 97Wing Commander Codanda Chitrajit Cariappa15038 F(P)COGuwahati
30 Mar 98 to 03 Jan 99Wing Commander Rajiv Gaur15196 F(P)COGuwahati
04 Jan 99 to 07 Jan 01Wing Commander Sambasivan Srinivasan15677 F(P)COGuwahati
08 Jan 01 to 30 Mar 03Wing Commander Kothandaram Krishna Reddy16623 F(P)COGuwahati
31 Mar 03 to 01 Sep 04Wing Commander Srinivasa Rao Atmakuri17158 F(P)COGuwahati
27 Sep 04 to 27 Aug 06Wing Commander Ganesh Chandra Mishra18288 F(P)COGuwahati
28 Aug 06 to 07 Jun 09Wing Commander Sheikh Mohammad Wahid19887 F(P)COGuwahati
08 Jun 09 to 12 Jun 11Wing Commander Raiiv Batra20772 F(P)COGuwahati
31 May 12 to 16 Jun 14Group Captain Mahesh Kumar Yadav21533 F(P)COGuwahati
16 Jun 14 to 30 Aug 17Group Captain Anil Kumar Yadav22936 F(P)COGuwahati

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.