20 Wing

Date Raised : 1962-11-29 Location : Bagdogra
Air Force Station Bagdogra, near Siliguri in West Bengal was formed on 29 November 1962, in the wake of the Sino-Indian border conflict. Like Air Force Station Guwahati, this Station was set up to exercise command and control over Fighter Sqns, Helicopter and Transport Unitss. The role of the Station changed in April 1970 when it started exercising administrative control on two Fighter Sqns, one Helicopter Units and two Air Observation Posts. A Survival security support Flight was moved to this Air Base in December 1982. The EAC Communication Flight was merged with this Flight in September 1997. This Flight was tasked to undertake Search and Rescue missions (SAR) during natural Since February 1989, a Signal Units established at this Station has been providing multi-channel communication facilities for Air Defence and Administrative Communication to the designated Unitss. A Mobile Observation Flight formed at this Base in February 1982 provides early warning of airborne objects to alert air defence measures.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
Unknown to 01 Dec 63Wing Commander George Christadoss Vithuasiromony Nallayya2770 GD(P)Stn CdrBagdogra
Unknown to 01 Dec 64Wing Commander Hemant Ramkrishna Chitnis2964 GD(P)Stn CdrBagdogra
19 Mar 65 to 14 Apr 67Wing Commander Narendra Bahadur Singh2971 GD(P)Stn CdrBagdogra
29 Nov 69 to 25 Jan 73Group Captain Minoo Jehangir Dotiwalla3839 GD(P)Stn CdrBagdogra
26 Jan 73 to 23 Nov 73Group Captain Johney William Greene4093 GD(P)Stn CdrBagdogra
24 Nov 73 to 31 Dec 74Group Captain Denis Anthony Lafontaine3844 GD(P)Stn CdrBagdogra
Unknown to Group Captain Sukh Dev Mohan4789 GD(P)Stn CdrBagdogra
21 Feb 81 to 25 Nov 83Group Captain Viney Kapila5596 GD(P)Stn CdrBagdogra
26 Nov 83 to 05 Feb 86Air Commodore Chandra Sekhar Doraiswamy5601 GD(P)AOCBagdogra
06 Feb 86 to 29 Dec 88Air Commodore Amarjit Singh Sethi5682 GD(P)AOCBagdogra
30 Dec 88 to 25 Nov 90Air Commodore Jagbir Singh5783 GD(P)AOCBagdogra
26 Nov 90 to 14 Mar 93Air Commodore Surinder Kumar Mitroo7688 GD(P)AOCBagdogra
15 Mar 93 to 31 Jan 96Air Commodore Surjit Singh8148 GD(P)AOCBagdogra
18 Mar 96 to 04 Feb 98Air Commodore Narendra Minocha9513 GD(P)AOCBagdogra
29 Jun 98 to 02 Aug 00Air Commodore Jaspal Singh Gujral11300 GD(P)AOCBagdogra
03 Aug 00 to 05 Jan 03Air Commodore Prakash Prahalad Dani12214 GD(P)AOCBagdogra
06 Jan 03 to 23 Dec 04Air Commodore Mohan John13131 F(P)AOCBagdogra
24 Dec 04 to 15 Dec 06Air Commodore Ramesh Malhotra13590 F(P)AOCBagdogra
16 Dec 05 to 12 Dec 07Group Captain Chandramouli16984 F(P)Stn CdrBagdogra
13 Dec 07 to 30 Aug 09Air Commodore Anil Kumar Jain14565 F(P)AOCBagdogra
31 Aug 09 to 30 Apr 11Air Commodore Krishnan Sundarram17163 F(P)AOCBagdogra
01 May 11 to 31 Dec 12Air Commodore Jonnalagedda Chalapati17358 F(P)AOCBagdogra
01 Jan 13 to 31 Jul 14Air Commodore Balabhadra Radha Krishna17326 F(P)AOCBagdogra
01 Aug 14 to 01 Oct 16Air Commodore Pemmaraju Maheshwar19183 F(P)AOCBagdogra
02 Oct 16 to 30 Apr 19Air Commodore Manu Chaudhary19896 F(P)AOCBagdogra

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.