No.107 Helicopter Unit Desert Hawks

Motto : Apatsu Mitram (A friend in time of need)
Date Raised : 1960-01-01 Location : Jodhpur
The Units was raised in January 1960 at Srinagar. It was initially established for S-62 and Bell 47 G-3 helicopters. In November 1961 when MI-4 helicopters were inducted into the IAF, this was the first Units received the present fleet of MI-8s on 1 February 1981.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Jan 60 to 16 Jul 61Squadron Leader Arnold Sochindranath Williams3950 GD(P)COSrinagar
17 Jul 61 to 12 Aug 62Squadron Leader Maheshwar Sarup Kapoor4096 GD(P)CO
13 Aug 62 to 24 Jul 64Squadron Leader Surya Kant Badhwar3973 GD(P)CO
25 Jul 64 to 06 Aug 64Squadron Leader Arvind Dalaya4025 GD(P)CO
17 Aug 64 to 08 Oct 67Squadron Leader Bhagat Singh Bakhshi4597 GD(P)CO
09 Oct 67 to 28 Feb 71Squadron Leader Ravindra Nath Luther5285 GD(P)CO
01 Mar 71 to 31 Jan 74Squadron Leader Lalit Kumar Dutta6506 GD(P)CO
15 Feb 74 to 24 Aug 75Squadron Leader Kenneth Rodney Dutton5873 GD(P)CO
25 May 76 to 19 Jun 77Squadron Leader Jawahar Lal Kochhar5796 GD(P)CO
20 Jun 77 to 28 Feb 79Squadron Leader Harjit Singh Bedi7603 GD(P)CO
28 Mar 79 to 24 Oct 80Wing Commander Brij Mohan Datta5319 GD(P)COJodhpur
20 Nov 80 to 08 Mar 83Wing Commander Manjit Singh Dhillon7021 GD(P)COJodhpur
07 Mar 83 to 05 May 85Wing Commander Gulzarinder Singh Braich8762 GD(P)COJodhpur
06 May 85 to 21 Dec 86Wing Commander Jatinder Singh11273 GD(P)COJodhpur
22 Dec 86 to 13 Nov 88Wing Commander Arun Kumar Saxena11312 GD(P)COJodhpur
14 Nov 88 to 19 Oct 92Wing Commander Ashok Kumar Bharadwaj12011 GD(P)COJodhpur
19 Oct 92 to 02 Jun 95Wing Commander Pramod Kumar Roy14100 F(P)COJodhpur
03 Jul 95 to 15 Jun 97Wing Commander Raghvinder Nath Joshi15432 F(P)COJodhpur
20 Oct 97 to 12 Sep 99Wing Commander Samba Siva Rao15879 F(P)COJodhpur
13 Sep 99 to 09 Sep 01Wing Commander Rajeev Sharma17004 F(P)COJodhpur
10 Sep 01 to 22 Jun 03Wing Commander Pankaj Vishnoi17347 F(P)COJodhpur
23 Jun 03 to 26 Jun 05Wing Commander Umesh Kumar18582 F(P)COJodhpur
27 Jun 05 to 17 Sep 06Wing Commander Shashi Kant Mishra19570 F(P)COJodhpur
18 Sep 06 to 05 Oct 08Wing Commander Samir Jayasinha Pendse20495 F(P)COJodhpur
18 Jul 11 to 23 Jun 13Wing Commander Anupam Kathuria22964 F(P)COJodhpur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.