1 Air Force Selection Board

Date Raised : 1962-04-17 Location : Dehradun
The institute was initially established as an Experimental Selection Board at Forest Research Institute, Dehradun in 1943. Subsequently, the Board was renamed as No 7 General Selection Board in March 1944, then Royal Indian Air Force Board and moved to its present location at Clement Town in Oct 1948. The board was remaned as Royal indian Air Force Selection Board. Post 26 Jan 1950, it was renamed as Air Force Selection Board. in 1962, with mysore coming up as 2 AFSB, the Units was renamed as 1 AFSB
Unit previously existed as AFSB

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
17 Apr 62 to 10 Jan 63Group Captain Maurice Barker1691 GD(P)PresidentDehradun
12 Jan 63 to 19 Aug 64Group Captain Panangadan Cheruvari Ramakrishna1843 GD(O)PresidentDehradun
20 Aug 64 to 10 Jan 67Group Captain Manohar Maharudrappa Sakhare1679 GD(P)PresidentDehradun
11 Jan 67 to 04 Apr 69Group Captain Manohar Laxman Kolhatkar3378 GD(N)PresidentDehradun
12 Apr 69 to 02 Mar 72Group Captain Vivek Yeshvant Nehru3488 GD(N)PresidentDehradun
03 Mar 72 to 20 Aug 72Group Captain Rishab Chand Suchanti3466 GD(N)PresidentDehradun
21 Aug 72 to 25 Jul 75Group Captain Ramesh Krishnarao Nagarkatti4012 GD(N)PresidentDehradun
04 Aug 75 to 16 Mar 77Group Captain Arvind Dalaya4025 GD(P)PresidentDehradun
17 Mar 77 to 31 Oct 78Group Captain Abhash Chander Jolly4225 GD(P)PresidentDehradun
12 Apr 79 to 30 Dec 81Group Captain Surinder Pal Dhawan5298 GD(N)PresidentDehradun
31 Dec 81 to 27 Sep 84Group Captain Avinash Goswami5094 GD(N)PresidentDehradun
28 Sep 84 to 21 Aug 85Group Captain Krishna Kumar5096 GD(N)PresidentDehradun
22 Aug 85 to 30 Apr 88Air Commodore Om Prakash Devgon4726 GD(P)PresidentDehradun
30 May 88 to 31 Dec 88Air Commodore Harwant Bir Singh5065 GD(P)PresidentDehradun
02 Jan 89 to 19 Mar 91Air Commodore Shiv Nath Rathour5580 GD(N)PresidentDehradun
09 Aug 91 to 31 Mar 93Air Commodore Vijay Singh Yadava6143 GD(P)PresidentDehradun
01 Apr 94 to 20 Sep 95Air Commodore Arun Kumar Das7020 GD(P)PresidentDehradun
21 Sep 95 to 10 Jan 99Air Commodore Ashok Kumar Gupta8776 GD(P)PresidentDehradun
11 Jan 99 to 31 Dec 01Air Commodore James Arun Benjamin11296 GD(P)PresidentDehradun
01 Jan 02 to 27 Apr 03Air Commodore Devdas Banerjee12192 GD(P)PresidentDehradun
28 Apr 03 to 30 Nov 05Air Commodore Kambiranda Poovaiah Devia12949 F(P)PresidentDehradun
28 Dec 05 to 23 Apr 07Air Commodore Rajender Khurana13377 F(P)PresidentDehradun
03 Jul 07 to 08 Nov 09Air Commodore Hitesh Hari Bhai Patel14271 F(P)PresidentDehradun
09 Nov 09 to 18 Jul 10Air Commodore Pandurang Narayana Pradhan16403 F(P)PresidentDehradun
18 Oct 10 to 31 Jan 12Air Commodore George Thomas17722 F(P)PresidentDehradun
01 Feb 12 to 01 Jul 12Air Commodore Harinder Jeet Walia16418 F(N)PresidentDehradun
02 Jul 12 to 13 Jul 14Air Commodore Vishwanath Prakash17149 F(P)PresidentDehradun
14 Jul 14 to 21 May 17Air Commodore Nitin B Sathe17708 F(P)PresidentDehradun
17 Jul 17 to 19 Mar 19Air Commodore Ajay Singh Pathania18594 F(P)PresidentDehradun
26 Mar 19 to Air Commodore Shashi Kant Mishra19570 F(P)PresidentDehradun

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.