25 Wing

Date Raised : 1964-11-16 Location : Rajokri (Delhi)
Originally established near the capital as the nerve center for missile defence in the National Capital Region. 25 Wing was established to exercise administrative and functional control over six SA-2 Divina Squadrons deployed around New Delhi ( Sqn numbers - 62,63,64,65,66, 67 and 36 as Technical Sqn). The Wing today hosts the Guided Weapons Training Institute operating the Pechoras.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
16 Nov 64 to 27 Feb 66Group Captain Purshotam Lal Dhawan2351 GD(P)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
28 Feb 66 to 31 Mar 68Group Captain Suraj Lall Mathur2444 F(N)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
01 Apr 68 to 18 May 71Group Captain Minoo Shipurjee Mehta3592 F(P)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
19 May 71 to 29 Oct 74Group Captain Manuel Keshrinath Gaikwad3882 F(P)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
30 Oct 74 to 19 Jul 76Group Captain Sankaran Thri Vikraman Nair4004 F(N)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
20 Jul 76 to 31 Oct 79Group Captain Dalip Wikram Chauhan4031 F(P)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
16 Jan 80 to 04 May 80Group Captain Sudharshan Handa4816 F(P)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
05 May 80 to 20 Feb 83Group Captain Krishna Kumar5096 F(N)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
21 Feb 83 to 31 Jul 86Group Captain Inder Jit Kampani5579 F(N)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
17 Nov 86 to 13 Aug 89Group Captain Raja Singh Dhanjal6341 F(P)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
14 Aug 89 to 23 Aug 92Group Captain Bhupinder Singh Marwa10518 F(P)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
24 Aug 92 to 30 Nov 95Group Captain Harvindar Singh Grewal9109 F(N)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
01 Dec 95 to 13 Jun 96Group Captain Rajinder Singh Bedi11298 F(N)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
14 Jun 96 to 13 Jun 99Group Captain Harjinder Kumar Bajaj12762 F(P)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
14 Jun 99 to 13 Aug 01Group Captain Kambiranda Poovaiah Devia12949 F(P)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
14 Aug 01 to 25 May 03Group Captain Ayyappan Radhakrishnan15020 F(P)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
26 May 03 to 04 Jul 04Group Captain Arvind Verma15410 F(P)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
04 Aug 04 to 12 Apr 05Group Captain Krishna Raghunath Rathindranath16027 F(P)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
30 May 05 to 31 Dec 07Group Captain Shrikant Sadashiv Deshpande15577 F(N)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
01 Jan 08 to 16 Nov 08Group Captain Sanjeeb Kumar Barbora17181 F(P)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)
17 Nov 08 to 13 Jun 10Group Captain Sudipta Ghosh17142 F(P)Stn CdrRajokri (Delhi)

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.