Click here to go to Home Page
Home Navy Today Naval Commands Andaman and Nicobar Command

Andaman and Nicobar Command

E-mail Print PDF

The flotilla at the ANC consists of four Trinkat Class fast patrol vessels, eight Mk.3 LCU vessels, a few Polnochny-C/D Class amphibious warfare vessels and the SDB Mk.3 large patrol craft. Do-228-101 maritime patrol craft, operating from airfields at Port Blair, Car Nicobar, Campbell Bay and Diglipur maintain surveillance over the sea areas and approaches. CGAS 745, consisting of Do-228s, operate from Port Blair. The army presence consists of an infantry brigade, which plans to increase its strength to a full division. The No.122 Helicopter Unit (Mi-8s) operates from Car Nicobar and is the air force presence at the ANC. Eventually a fighter squadron will also be based here, thereby increasing the ANC's strike capability.

INS Jarawa, located at Port Blair, has limited support facilities including a floating dock.

INHS Dhanvantari, located at Port Blair, is a Naval Hospital.

• INS Kardip, located at Nicobar, is an advance base.


Copyright 2008 All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of BHARAT RAKSHAK is prohibited. If you have any comments, then please send them to us using our Feedback Form.