Maritime Air Operations

Date Raised : 1971-07-15 Location : Bombay
HQ MAO was formed as Air Force Element in Mumbai in 1957 for joint operations with Army. In 1967 it was moved to Pune and renamed as HQ Western India and further renamed to Maritime Air Operations (MAO) in July 1971 and moved to Mumbai.
Unit previously existed as HQ Western India

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
15 Jul 71 to 03 Mar 72Air Vice Marshal Anand Ramdas Pandit1707 GD(P)AOCBombay
06 Mar 72 to 03 Apr 73Air Vice Marshal Gian Dev Sharma1742 GD(P)AOCBombay
16 Apr 73 to 31 Oct 76Air Vice Marshal Waman Raghunath Dani1807 GD(P)AOCBombay
01 Nov 76 to 24 Aug 78Air Vice Marshal Douglas George King-Lee3040 GD(P)AOCBombay
25 Aug 78 to 13 Jan 81Air Vice Marshal Kanwar Iqbal Singh Chhabra3831 GD(N)AOCBombay
14 Jan 81 to 14 Mar 81Air Vice Marshal Madan Mohan Dutt4010 GD(N)AOCBombay
09 Jun 81 to 31 Dec 84Air Vice Marshal Brij Lal Chadha4110 GD(N)AOCBombay
01 Jan 85 to 30 Apr 87Air Vice Marshal Manohar Madhav Takle4116 GD(N)AOCBombay
15 Feb 88 to 31 Jan 89Air Vice Marshal Purushottam Laxmikant Purohit4581 GD(P)AOCBombay
01 Feb 89 to 31 Oct 91Air Vice Marshal Thupakulu Narasimhulu Bhavani Shankar5060 GD(P)AOCBombay
01 Nov 91 to 18 Jun 93Air Vice Marshal Bharat Kumar5787 GD(P)AOCBombay
21 Jun 93 to 30 Jun 95Air Vice Marshal Ajai Kumar Brahmawar5858 GD(P)AOCBombay
25 Sep 95 to 30 Jun 96Air Vice Marshal Suresh Kumar Sonpar6126 GD(P)AOCBombay
30 Jul 96 to 10 Feb 99Air Vice Marshal Kurumthodathil Cherian Phillipose7702 GD(P)AOCBombay
11 Feb 99 to 31 Aug 00Air Vice Marshal Chandra Kant Krishnatri7697 GD(P)AOCBombay
01 Sep 00 to 09 Jun 02Air Vice Marshal Harpal Singh Ahluwalia9821 GD(P)AOCBombay
10 Jun 02 to 13 Feb 04Air Vice Marshal Padamjit Singh Ahluwalia11631 GD(P)AOCBombay
01 Apr 04 to 17 Dec 06Air Vice Marshal Saravjit Singh Hothi12215 GD(P)AOCBombay
18 Dec 06 to 30 Apr 08Air Vice Marshal Ajay Shrivniwas Karnik13140 F(P)AOCBombay
05 May 08 to 24 May 09Air Vice Marshal Muthumanikam Matheswaran14104 F(P)AOCBombay
25 May 09 to 01 Nov 10Air Vice Marshal Ravinath Gururaj Burli14667 F(P)AOCBombay
01 Dec 10 to 30 Sep 13Air Vice Marshal Anil Khosla15871 F(P)AOCBombay
01 Oct 13 to 30 Jun 16Air Vice Marshal Anil Golani16986 F(P)AOCBombay
01 Jul 16 to 31 Jul 18Air Vice Marshal Michael Fernandez16967 F(P)AOCBombay
10 Aug 18 to Air Vice Marshal Rajeev Hora17141 F(P)AOCBombay
Unknown to Air Vice Marshal Shiv Ratan Singh18083 F(P)AOCBombay
Unknown to Air Vice Marshal Rajat Mohan20476 F(P)AOCBombay

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.