Indian Air Force Signal Centre

Date Raised : 1950-05-26 Disbanded : 2000-02-29 Location : New Delhi
Air Force Communication Centre (AFCC) was established way back in 1945 with the name, Royal Air Force Signal Centre. On August 15, 1947, as India became independent, it continued to function with the name Royal Indian Air Force (RIAF) Signal Centre to provide voice and data communication to Air HQ at Vayu Bhawan and RK Puram. As India became republic on January 26, 1950 the name of this centre changed as IAF Signal Centre. Later, it was commonly known as Air Force Signal Centre (AFSC) till March 2000. Keeping in view the changed role, it was renamed as Air Force Communication Centre. Toady, AFCC operates from six different locations namely Sena Bhawan, Vayu Bhawan, RK Puram, Ridge, 412 Air Force Station and Transmitting Station, Gurgaon. As per the policy, this centre is responsible for signals and telecommunication facilities to Air HQs and lodger Unitss. It is also responsible for frequency monitoring of Air Force W/T, R/T and beacons, technical evaluation and field trials of communication equipment.
Unit previously existed as RIAFSC

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
26 Jan 50 to 17 Feb 52Squadron Leader Amiya Bhushan Mukerjee2314 A&SDCONew Delhi
18 Feb 52 to 01 Feb 53Squadron Leader Karnail Singh2658 A&SDCONew Delhi
02 Feb 53 to 10 Oct 56Squadron Leader Surjin Singh2659 A&SDCONew Delhi
10 Oct 56 to 15 Nov 59Squadron Leader G SinghCONew Delhi
16 Nov 59 to 12 Dec 61Squadron Leader Kalandy Narayanan1934 GD(O)CONew Delhi
13 Dec 61 to 08 May 62Squadron Leader Govind Somnath Mehta4293 AE(L)CONew Delhi
09 May 62 to 14 Jan 66Wing Commander Kalandy Narayanan1934 GD(O)CONew Delhi
15 Jan 66 to 11 Apr 68Wing Commander Jagir Singh2608 SIGSCONew Delhi
15 Apr 68 to 02 Aug 70Wing Commander Inder Swaroop Bhatnagar3930 AE(L)CONew Delhi
03 Aug 70 to 14 Oct 70Wing Commander Satindra Nath Wadhwa4288 AE(L)CONew Delhi
15 Oct 70 to 09 Apr 74Wing Commander Narayanan Seetharaman4385 AE(L)CONew Delhi
10 Apr 74 to 26 Oct 77Wing Commander Satish Chand3555 SIGSCONew Delhi
27 Oct 77 to 16 Nov 80Wing Commander A K RaiCONew Delhi
05 Jan 81 to 28 Feb 82Wing Commander Santokh Singh Tuteja5253 AE(L)CONew Delhi
01 Mar 82 to 19 Jan 86Group Captain Krishan Chandra5250 SIGSCONew Delhi
17 Feb 86 to 11 Sep 88Group Captain KoteshwaranCONew Delhi
12 Sep 88 to 28 Apr 91Group Captain Kamala Kant Dwivedi7335 AE(L)CONew Delhi
29 Apr 91 to 29 May 93Group Captain Harbhajan Singh Bhatti11769 AE(L)CONew Delhi
30 May 93 to 23 May 96Group Captain A KumarCONew Delhi
24 May 96 to 30 Apr 98Group Captain Harjit Singh Dua11499 AE(L)CONew Delhi
22 Oct 98 to 22 Mar 99Group Captain R C KakkarCONew Delhi
26 Jul 99 to 29 Feb 00Group Captain Vinod Kumar Tiwari13198 AE(L)CONew Delhi
Unit continued existence as AFCC

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.