Command Hospital, Air Force

Date Raised : 1968-05-01 Location : Bengaluru
CHAFB, a 800 bedded Super-Speciality hospital, was originallyformed at Secunderabad as No. 8 Air Force Hospital and moved to Bangalore on May 1, 1968.
Unit previously existed as 8 AFH

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 May 68 to 30 May 69Group Captain Thomas Gerald Jones3724 MEDCmdtBangalore
31 May 69 to 29 Jul 73Group Captain Prabirendra Basu3900 MEDCmdtBangalore
30 Jul 73 to 10 Sep 74Group Captain Mulk Raj3518 MEDCmdtBangalore
11 Sep 74 to 06 Mar 77Group Captain Puran Singh Bajwa3520 MEDCmdtBangalore
07 Mar 77 to 04 Feb 78Group Captain Rajendra Narayan Gour5430 MEDCmdtBangalore
05 Feb 78 to 19 Jan 79Group Captain Satya Paul Chitkara4086 MEDCmdtBangalore
19 Jan 79 to 06 Aug 79Air Commodore Satya Paul Chitkara4086 MEDCmdtBangalore
07 Aug 79 to 29 Aug 80Air Commodore Subramaniam Krishnamurti3586 MEDCmdtBangalore
30 Aug 80 to 13 May 81Air Commodore Surender Kumar Bhalla4121 MEDCmdtBangalore
14 May 81 to 31 May 82Air Commodore J M Das Bakshi16019 MEDCmdtBangalore
01 Jan 83 to 04 Nov 84Air Commodore Prakash Singh Devgan4625 MEDCmdtBangalore
05 Nov 84 to 28 Apr 85Air Vice Marshal Surender Kumar Bhalla4121 MEDCmdtBangalore
29 Apr 85 to 31 Mar 86Air Vice Marshal Raj Kumar Bhandari17101 MEDCmdtBangalore
01 Apr 86 to 30 Jun 87Air Vice Marshal Jagannathan Vasudevan15857 MEDCmdtBangalore
01 Aug 87 to 31 Oct 87Air Commodore Pinnapakkam Masilamani Sundaram4857 MEDCmdtBangalore
31 Oct 87 to 29 Apr 90Air Vice Marshal Pinnapakkam Masilamani Sundaram4857 MEDCmdtBangalore
30 Apr 90 to 15 May 90Air Commodore Dev Prasad Sarker5491 MEDCmdtBangalore
16 May 90 to 10 Nov 91Air Vice Marshal Dev Prasad Sarker5491 MEDCmdtBangalore
20 Jan 92 to 05 Apr 94Air Vice Marshal Pratap Chandra Sharda5752 MEDCmdtBangalore
27 May 94 to 31 Aug 95Air Vice Marshal Sahab Prasad Verma6466 MEDCmdtBangalore
01 Sep 95 to 08 Jun 97Air Vice Marshal Tapash Kumar Mitra23432 MEDCmdtBangalore
09 Jun 97 to 31 Mar 00Air Vice Marshal Kukkehalli Prabhakar Hegde7253 MEDCmdtBangalore
17 Jun 00 to 31 Dec 01Air Vice Marshal Satish Kumar Ramlal Dham8097 MEDCmdtBangalore
01 Jan 02 to 29 Sep 03Air Vice Marshal Parimal Kumar Sarkar26480 MEDCmdtBangalore
30 Sep 03 to 25 Nov 03Air Marshal Parimal Kumar Sarkar26480 MEDCmdtBangalore
16 Feb 04 to 28 Feb 05Air Vice Marshal Jayanta Kumar De12250 MEDCmdtBangalore
01 Mar 05 to 31 Dec 05Air Vice Marshal Jai Krishan Gupta12308 MEDCmdtBangalore
01 Jan 06 to 08 Apr 08Air Vice Marshal Trichinapoly Subramanyam Raghu Raman12664 MEDCmdtBangalore
21 Apr 08 to 30 Apr 09Air Vice Marshal Ram Krishan Ganjoo13362 MEDCmdtBangalore
01 May 09 to Air Vice Marshal Anil Kumar Behl14446 MEDCmdtBangalore
09 Jul 12 to 05 Dec 13Air Vice Marshal Rajvir Bhalwar32372 MEDCmdtBangalore
Unknown to 30 Jun 15Air Vice Marshal Dilip Chandra Agarwal32386 MEDCmdtBangalore
01 Jul 15 to 30 Jul 16Air Vice Marshal Chambala Karai Ranjan16015 MEDCmdtBangalore
Unknown to 20 Mar 18Air Vice Marshal Mahendra Vikram Singh17272 MEDCmdtBangalore
21 Mar 18 to 16 Dec 18Air Vice Marshal Rakesh Kumar Ranyal17402 MEDCmdtBangalore
17 Dec 18 to Air Vice Marshal Deepak Gaur17404 MEDCmdtBangalore
Unknown to Air Vice Marshal Ashutosh Sharma17987 MEDCmdtBangalore
Unknown to Air Vice Marshal M S Sridhar18696 MEDCmdtBangalore

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.