AFS Yelahanka

Motto : Balamcha Budhischa
Date Raised : 1984-12-17 Location : Yelahanka
Among the first units to be formed at Yelahanka, then RAF station was No. 225 Group Communication Flight in 1942. Initially formed as a conversion and training squadron at Agra in 1948, the Units moved over to Begumpet in 1957 and was renamed as Transport Training Wing (TTW). In 1963 after the Sino -Indian conflict, the necessity for expanding training on transport aircraft became imperative. To facilitate this requirement; existing TTW was retained at Begumpet and No.2 TTW was established at Yelahanka, a suburb of Bangalore. Here, an airfield of world war II vintage was already in existence. This deserted airfield was recommissioned after necessary repairs on August I, 1963 and began functioning under the command of Gp Capt PL Dhawan. On January 1, 1968 both the TTW s were merged to form a single TTW at Yelahanka. Later, TTWs was renamed as Air Force Station, Yelahanka. Initial conversion courses were conducted on Dakota MkIII and MkIV. From Jan 1975 the HS-748 replaced the Dakota and the Course was renamed as Transport Conversion Course (TCC). An-32 was inducted in 1986 and Do-228 in 1996.
Unit previously existed as TTW

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
17 Dec 84 to 08 Feb 86Air Commodore Poovala Govindarajulu Srivatsalu5383 F(P)AOCBengaluru
07 Feb 86 to 23 Dec 87Air Commodore Puthettu Kurien Mani5666 F(P)AOCBengaluru
24 Dec 87 to 24 Dec 91Air Commodore Jagbir Singh Rai6507 F(P)AOCBengaluru
30 Dec 91 to 24 Dec 92Air Commodore Bandi Kesava Rao Sunder8201 F(P)AOCBengaluru
24 Dec 92 to 17 Sep 95Air Commodore Pandarangi Ananta Ramakrishna Kumar8747 F(P)AOCBengaluru
18 Sep 95 to 31 Mar 97Air Commodore Mohinderjit Singh Singha9711 F(P)AOCBengaluru
12 May 97 to 30 Jun 99Air Commodore Basudev Banerjee11654 F(P)AOCBengaluru
01 Jul 99 to 13 Jul 01Air Commodore Pradeep Kumar12029 F(P)AOCBengaluru
14 Jul 01 to 13 Oct 03Air Commodore Dhiraj Kukreja13130 F(P)AOCBengaluru
14 Oct 03 to 30 Jun 05Air Commodore Satish Pal Singh13770 F(P)AOCBengaluru
01 Jul 05 to 21 Mar 07Air Commodore Gurwinder Jeet Singh Cheema14292 F(P)AOCBengaluru
22 Mar 07 to 30 Apr 09Air Commodore Ravi Dhar14559 F(P)AOCBengaluru
01 May 09 to 19 Jun 11Air Commodore Vidhya Sagar Bharti16611 F(P)AOCBengaluru
20 Jun 11 to 23 Sep 12Air Commodore Birender Singh Yadav17166 F(P)AOCBengaluru
11 Jul 16 to 05 Aug 18Air Commodore Tejbir Singh19958 F(P)AOCBengaluru
16 Dec 19 to 31 Aug 21Air Commodore Shailender Sood19181 F(P)AOCBengaluru

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.