35 Wing

Date Raised : 1980-02-18 Location : Suratgarh
The site selected for the airfield was an open area around the village of Karnisar. Work commenced in Aug 1973 with the clearing and levelling of the sand dunes. In the absence of any other local army Unitss, the personnel survived on a diet consisting of canal fish since the construction plans of airfield were a top secret matter. The Commanding Officer had to sleep every night guarding the papers, locked in a box that was chained to his wrist. Thus originated 11 Forward Base Support Units on 27 Oct 1975, which moved to its present location in Jan 1976. The base became operational on 02 May 1976 with 17 Squadron (MiG-21) and 20 Squadron (Hunters) moving in and was converted to 35 Wing on 18 Feb 1980 with the aim to enhance the operational flexibility on the Western Front. Since Oct 1975, the Wing has seen a steady induction of various aircrafts, SAMs, Radars signal and other operational Unitss.
Unit previously existed as 11 FBSU

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
27 Feb 89 to 11 Jun 90Group Captain Mohinder Singh Bhatia8734 F(P)Stn CdrSuratgarh
16 Jul 90 to 28 Dec 92Group Captain Brijendra Mohan Bali8438 F(P)Stn CdrSuratgarh
01 Jan 93 to 31 May 95Group Captain Ashok Dharam Chhibbar12118 F(P)Stn CdrSuratgarh
01 Jun 95 to 13 Nov 96Group Captain Rajesh Lal11634 F(P)Stn CdrSuratgarh
14 Nov 96 to 26 Jul 98Group Captain Gurcharan Singh Bhogal12504 F(P)Stn CdrSuratgarh
27 Jul 98 to 13 Jun 99Group Captain Venkataraman Ramamurthy Iyer12939 F(P)Stn CdrSuratgarh
21 Jun 99 to 01 May 01Group Captain Anjan Kumar Gogoi13382 F(P)Stn CdrSuratgarh
02 May 01 to 16 Oct 02Group Captain Atul Saikia13585 F(P)Stn CdrSuratgarh
16 Oct 02 to 09 May 04Group Captain Jasbir Singh Walia15684 F(P)Stn CdrSuratgarh
10 May 04 to 05 Jan 07Group Captain Perumpillabil Narayanan Radha Govind15019 F(P)Stn CdrSuratgarh
05 Jan 07 to 02 Nov 08Group Captain Neeraj Yadav16399 F(P)Stn CdrSuratgarh
03 Nov 08 to 24 Mar 10Group Captain Shiv Ratan Singh18083 F(P)Stn CdrSuratgarh
25 Mar 10 to 25 Apr 10Group Captain Diptendu Choudhury17335 F(P)Stn CdrSuratgarh
26 Apr 10 to 25 Aug 10Air Commodore Diptendu Choudhury17335 F(P)AOCSuratgarh
26 Aug 10 to 29 Dec 11Air Commodore Gedela Raveendranath16985 F(P)AOCSuratgarh
30 Dec 11 to 21 Jun 15Air Commodore Pradeep Waman Ambedkar16600 F(P)AOCSuratgarh
22 Jun 15 to 30 Jul 17Air Commodore Biplab Banerjee17869 F(P)AOCSuratgarh

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.