No.20 Squadron Lightning

Motto : Vegvankutobhayah (Fast and Furious)
Date Raised : 1956-06-01 Location : Lohegaon
Numberplated in 1998 and reraised in Su-30 in 2002

Aircraft Types operated over the years:

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Jun 56 to 28 Apr 58Squadron Leader Krishna Mohan Ram3101 GD(P)COHalwara
25 Sep 58 to 23 Jun 60Squadron Leader Hemant Ramkrishna Chitnis2964 GD(P)COHalwara
24 Jun 60 to 18 Nov 62Squadron Leader Harendra Narain Bysak3857 GD(P)COPalam
19 Nov 62 to 14 Jan 65Wing Commander David Eugene Bouche2774 GD(P)COPalam
03 Mar 65 to 11 Jul 66Wing Commander Amrit Lal Bajaj3395 GD(P)COPalam/ Hindon
24 Aug 66 to 05 Jul 69Wing Commander Nirmal Chandra Suri4236 GD(P)COHindon
29 Jul 69 to 03 Dec 72Wing Commander Cecil Vivian Parker4346 GD(P)COHindon/ Pathankot
04 Dec 72 to 24 Jul 75Wing Commander Avinash Wasudeo Lele4885 GD(P)COPathankot
25 Jul 75 to 15 Aug 77Wing Commander Daya Krishan Dhiman5180 GD(P)COHindon
16 Aug 77 to 01 Jul 79Wing Commander Ajai Kumar Singh6336 GD(P)COHindon
02 Jul 79 to 25 Jun 81Wing Commander Prakash Sadashivrao Pingale6755 GD(P)COHindon
26 Jun 81 to 17 Oct 82Wing Commander Prithvi Singh Brar6007 GD(P)COHashimara
02 Nov 82 to 30 Jun 85Wing Commander Dilip Kamalakar Dighe9745 GD(P)COHashimara
08 Jul 85 to 19 Jun 88Wing Commander Biswajit Mukerjee10885 GD(P)COHashimara
04 Jul 88 to 08 Jul 90Wing Commander Tejbir Singh Randhawa12947 F(P)COHashimara/ Kalaikund
09 Jul 90 to 27 Oct 91Wing Commander Ashok Sadhashiv Limaye12934 F(P)COKalaikunda
28 Oct 91 to 30 May 93Wing Commander Keshav Gopal Bewoor13570 F(P)COKalaikunda
31 May 93 to 02 Jul 95Wing Commander Vijay Kumar Bali13787 F(P)COKalaikunda
03 Jul 95 to 02 Jan 96Wing Commander Virendra Pal Singh14551 F(P)COKalaikunda
03 Jan 96 to 01 Jan 98Wing Commander Nasib Singh Kadian15025 F(P)COKalaikunda
20 May 02 to 13 Jun 04Wing Commander Nirmal Singh Jamwal17156 F(P)COPune
14 Jun 04 to 08 Oct 06Wing Commander Ajay Rathore18258 F(P)COPune
09 Nov 06 to 02 Nov 08Wing Commander George Thomas20118 F(P)COPune
13 Dec 10 to 14 Oct 12Wing Commander Anurag Sharma22682 F(P)COPune
24 Nov 14 to 15 Aug 16Wing Commander Aman Midha24890 F(P)COPune
16 Aug 16 to 11 Dec 16Group Captain Aman Midha24890 F(P)COPune

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.