No.101 Squadron Falcons

Motto : Anwishyavedhi (Search and Destroy)
Date Raised : 1949-05-01
101 Squadron of the IAF, popularly known as the 'FALCONS OF CHHAMB' was created as a photo reconnaissance flight at Palam on 1 May 1949. Four Harvards, two Spitfires, eight pilots and fifty five airmen formed the nucleus of the Squadron. In 1957, the Squadron converted to Vampire aircraft and shifted its base to Adampur. The Squadron graduated to supersonic era with SU-7 ac in June 1968. The Squadron shifted to AF Base Sirsa on 10 May 1981. As of early 2002, Squadron 101 appeared to have relocated to Adampur Airbase.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 May 49 to Flight Lieutenant John Frederick Shukla2458 GD(P)COPalam
01 Nov 53 to Squadron Leader Fredrick Van Allen Scudder2639 F(P)COPalam
Unknown to 04 Jul 58Wing Commander Walter Vernon Alexander Lloyd2623 F(P)COTezpur
Unknown to 01 Oct 62Squadron Leader Edwin Noble Millicans3161 GD(P)COTezpur
01 Oct 62 to 01 Apr 65Squadron Leader Vishwanatha Krishnamurthy4022 F(P)COTezpur
01 Dec 66 to Squadron Leader Jayant Vishwanath Gole4578 F(P)COTezpur
01 Jan 68 to 30 Jun 68Squadron Leader Amarendra Nath Sanyal4982 F(P)COTezpur
01 Jan 69 to Wing Commander Prithi Singh4480 F(P)CO
01 Jan 71 to Wing Commander Kailash Chandra Khanna4722 F(P)COAdampur
Unknown to 01 Dec 78Wing Commander Pratap Rao5188 F(P)COAdampur
Unknown to Wing Commander Mahendra Vir Singh6769 F(P)CO
Unknown to Wing Commander Jeffrey Reginald McKerrow10469 F(P)CO
01 Jan 87 to 01 Jan 89Wing Commander Manmohan Singh11862 F(P)COSirsa
Unknown to Wing Commander Satish Chandra Mehta12223 F(P)CO
01 Jan 11 to 01 Dec 12Wing Commander ----------------99999 COJodhpur

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.