Flying Training Establishments


Name Location Operating Raised Disbanded
Air Force Academy (AFA) Dundigal HPT-32 1971  
Air Force Academy Bidar Kiran II 1983  
Basic Flying Training School (BFTS) Bamrauli HPT-32 1987  
Flying Instructors School (FIS) Tambaram HPT-32 , Kiran    
Hawk Operational Training Squadron (HOTS) Bidar Hawk 2007  
Helicopter Training School (HTS) Hakimpet Chetak    
MiG Operational Flying Training Unit (MOFTU) Tezpur MiG-21FL 1986  
Navigation Training School Begumpet HS-748    
Operational Conversion Unit (OCU) Chabua MiG-21FL 1997  
Parachute Training School (PTS) Agra An-32    
Transport Training Wing (TTW) Yelahanka An-32 1968  

Previous (Now Disbanded / Renamed)

Name Location Operating Raised Disbanded
Advanced Flying School (India) Ambala Spitfire 1944 1948
Aircraft and Armament Testing Unit Chakeri Gnat 1960 ::Y::
Air Force Flying College Jodhpur Harvard 1957 1971
Conversion and Training Unit (Fighters) Hakimpet Tempest 1951 ::Y::
Conversion and Training Unit (Transports) Yelahanka Dakota 1948 ::Y::
Elementary Flying School Bidar HT-2 1966 1983
Fighter Training Wing Hakimpet Iskra    
Jet Bomber Conversion Unit Agra Canberra 1959 ::Y::
Jet Training Wing Hakimpet Vampire   ::Y::
No.2 Jet Training Wing Bidar Vampire 1963 1965
Navigation Training Squadron Jodhpur Dakota 1957 1963
Operational Conversion Unit (Hunters) Jamnagar Hunter 1966 1991
Pilot Training Establishment Bamrauli HT-2 1963 1966
No.1 Transport Training Wing Agra Dakota   1968
No.2 Transport Training Wing Begumpet Dakota 1957 1968

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *