Param Vishist Seva Medal & Sarvottam Yudh Seva Medal

Spread the love


The Param Vishist Seva Medal was constituted in 1960 and since then till 1980, it was awarded in recognition to wartime service in all the three conflicts in the 60s. Most of the awards were to Base Commanders and a few to senior staff officers of the Commands.

The highest number of awards being made in the 1971 conflict for ten Officers including five Station Commanders.

After the conflict and the constitution of the SYSM, only one IAF Officer received it, Air Marshal Vinod Patney , the AOC-in-C, Western Air Command for his command during the Kargil Conflict.

No Bar to PVSMs have been awarded in the Indian Air Force.

The lowest ranking officers to be awarded the PVSM are six Group Captains in the 60s and the early 70s.

As most of the awards are for continous, sustained service in the capacity mentioned and not for specific incidents, the citations are not published in the Gazette of India and thus are not reproduced here.

A Complete list of PVSM Awardees

Wartime PVSM and SYSM awardee list
A V M Kanwar Jaswant Singh * 1587 GD(P) AOC-in-C, EAC HQ
A V M Eric W Pinto * 1593 GD(P) AOC-in-C, WAC HQ
Gp Capt George Kanisht Kumar John 2132 GD(P) Stn Cdr Halwara
Gp Capt Walter Vernon Alexander Lloyd 2623 GD(P) Stn Cdr Adampur
Air Marshal H N Chatterjee DFC 1620 F(P) Dy CAS,Air HQ
A V M Maurice Barker 1691 F(P) AOC-in-C, CAC HQ
A V M Satya Pal Sahi 1601 ADM
A V M Charan Das Guru Devasher 1867 F(P) SASO, EAC HQ
A V M Deviah Subia Vr.C 1866 F(P) SASO, WAC HQ
Air Cmde Randhir Singh AVSM VrC 2135 F(P) Stn Cdr Adampur
Air Cmde John Francis Lazaro, VM 2944 F(P) AOC, Advance HQ, WAC
Gp Capt Malcolm Shirley Dundas Wollen VM 3641 F(P) Stn Cdr Gauhati
Gp Capt Peter Maynard Wilson VrC 3590 F(P) Stn Cdr Jamnagar
Gp Capt Chandra Kant Vishwanath Gole AVSM 3652 F(P) Stn Cdr Halwara
Air Marshal Vinod Patney PVSM, AVSM VrC 6125 F(P) AOC-in-C , WAC HQ

* Posthumous Awards

Leave a Reply