Operational Command

Date Raised : 1949-07-22 Disbanded : 1963-06-09 Location : Delhi
At the time of independence, the Air Force were organised into two groups. The No 1 Operational Group controlled all the flying Unitss including the flying training Unitss. On 22nd July 1949 the No 1 Operational Group was re- designated as the Operational Command. The Air Officer Commanding the Operational Command was then of the rank of an Air Commodore. This was upgraded to the rank of Air Vice Marshal in 1958 and later to the rank of Air Marshal. The Command assumed its present name of Headquarters Western Air Command on 1th June 1963, primarily as a consequence of formation of other operational commands and demarcation of specific areas of responsibility.
 Read Detailed History
Unit previously existed as 1 Op Group (Delhi)

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
22 Jul 49 to 11 Dec 50Air Commodore Aspy Merwan Engineer1554 GD(P)AOCDelhi
12 Dec 50 to 11 Dec 52Air Commodore Arjan Singh1577 GD(P)AOCDelhi
12 Dec 52 to 07 Dec 55Air Commodore Diwan Atma Ram Nanda1562 GD(P)AOCDelhi
08 Dec 55 to 30 Apr 58Air Commodore Arjan Singh1577 GD(P)AOCDelhi
01 May 58 to 17 Nov 59Air Vice Marshal Arjan Singh1577 GD(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
18 Nov 59 to 09 Jun 63Air Vice Marshal Erlic Wilmot Pinto1593 GD(P)AOC-in-CDelhi
Unit continued existence as WAC

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.