7 Wing

Date Raised : 1954-08-01 Location : Ambala
Camp Umbala was formed in 1919 and had the No. 99 RAF Sqn placed there. over the next two decades or so, various RAF squadrons were placed off and on at the base including No. 114 RAF Sqn, 28 Sqn and 60 Sqn. Between 1920 and 1922, RAF HQ was also at Ambala, after which it moved to Simla/ Delhi. On 1st Apr 1938, the Station HQ at Ambala was formed and it was formally renamed RAF Station, Ambala on 15 Feb 1941. During the most of 1940s Ambala operated as a training base for IAF/ RIAF with the SFTS and Technical Training Center there. At independence, the station was called Air Force Flying School (India) and was training pilots. On transfer of training to other bases, Ambala was made an operational base of the IAF on 2 Sep 1951 and renamed 307 Wing. On 31 july 1954, this was renamed to 7 Wing.
Unit previously existed as 307 Wing

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Aug 54 to 07 Dec 56Group Captain Birendra Kumar Sen Gupta1590 GD(O)COAmbala
10 Dec 56 to 30 Jun 60Group Captain Syed Abbas Hussain1706 GD(P)COAmbala
01 Jul 60 to 21 Jul 62Group Captain Anant Vemanrao Samsi1865 GD(P)COAmbala
25 Jul 62 to 07 Jan 65Group Captain Charandas Gurudas Devashar1867 GD(P)COAmbala
08 Jan 65 to 04 Jan 67Group Captain David Eugene Bouche2774 GD(P)COAmbala
05 Jan 67 to 31 Mar 68Group Captain Maheshwar Das Khanna2776 GD(P)COAmbala
01 Apr 68 to 14 Jan 69Air Commodore Maheshwar Das Khanna2776 GD(P)AOCAmbala
15 Jan 69 to 14 Aug 70Air Commodore George Kanishtkumar John2132 GD(P)AOCAmbala
15 Aug 70 to 01 Aug 71Air Commodore Madhav Bhawrao Naik1874 GD(P)AOCAmbala
02 Aug 71 to 09 Jan 74Air Commodore Walter Vernon Alexander Lloyd2623 GD(P)AOCAmbala
10 Jan 74 to 10 Feb 76Air Commodore Dilbagh Singh2998 GD(P)AOCAmbala
11 Feb 76 to 21 Dec 77Air Commodore Subramaniam Raghavendran3840 GD(P)AOCAmbala
22 Dec 77 to 01 Apr 79Air Commodore Robert Arnold Weir3881 GD(P)AOCAmbala
02 Apr 79 to 17 Sep 82Air Commodore Mohinder Singh Bawa4494 GD(P)AOCAmbala
18 Nov 82 to 02 Jan 85Air Commodore Brijesh Dhar Jayal4972 GD(P)AOCAmbala
03 Jan 85 to 05 Jan 87Air Commodore Palamadai Muthuswamy Ramachandran4973 GD(P)AOCAmbala
08 Jan 87 to 01 Jan 89Air Commodore Dinanath Ramchander Nadkarni5587 GD(P)AOCAmbala
02 Jan 89 to 08 Mar 91Air Commodore Viney Kapila5596 GD(P)AOCAmbala
11 Mar 91 to 16 Dec 92Air Commodore Jogendra Singh Sisodia7696 GD(P)AOCAmbala
17 Dec 92 to 27 Feb 95Air Commodore Anil Kumar Trikha8436 GD(P)AOCAmbala
14 Mar 95 to 28 May 96Air Commodore Michael McMahon7399 GD(P)AOCAmbala
24 Jun 96 to 04 Jan 98Air Commodore Avdesh Kumar Singh11005 GD(P)AOCAmbala
05 Jan 98 to 31 Aug 00Air Commodore Karan Singh Chhina12389 GD(P)AOCAmbala
01 Sep 00 to 20 Oct 02Air Commodore Venkataraman Ramamurthy Iyer12939 F(P)AOCAmbala
21 Oct 02 to 30 Sep 03Air Commodore Satish Kumar Sofat12207 GD(P)AOCAmbala
01 Oct 03 to 01 Sep 05Air Commodore Lalit Kumar Malhotra13373 F(P)AOCAmbala
02 Sep 05 to 24 Jun 07Air Commodore Hitesh Hari Bhai Patel14271 F(P)AOCAmbala
25 Jun 07 to 31 Mar 09Air Commodore Rahul Dhar14561 F(P)AOCAmbala
01 Apr 09 to 29 Nov 10Air Commodore Anil Khosla15871 F(P)AOCAmbala
30 Nov 10 to 13 Jun 12Air Commodore Prashant Nagaraja Kaushik16783 F(P)AOCAmbala
14 Jun 12 to 20 Aug 14Air Commodore Dilip Kumar Patnaik17464 F(P)AOCAmbala
21 Aug 14 to 01 Jan 17Air Commodore Tejinder Singh18806 F(P)AOCAmbala
02 Jan 17 to 01 Jan 19Air Commodore Lalit Kumar Chawla19871 F(P)AOCAmbala
02 Jan 19 to Air Commodore Deepak Sudhir Joshi20756 F(P)AOCAmbala

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.