6 Tactical Air Center

Date Raised : 1962-12-17 Location : Srinagar
6 Tactical Air Centre of the Indian Air Force was formed at Leh on 17 Dec 62. The Centre was raised as a result of the overall plan of expansion of the Indian Air Force during the Sino-Indian conflict. The role of the Units was to conduct OAS, Exercises and Training within the area of responsibility of Ladakh. In Oct 71, the centre moved to Jalandhar and was affiliated to Head Quarters 11 Corps. During 1971 Indo Pak War it moved to Dera Baba Nanak area. In 1972 the centre moved to Srinagar " "and is affiliated to Head Quarters 15 Corps ever since.

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
25 Jan 63 to 11 Jun 64Group Captain Soli Cursetji Kaikobad2119 GD(P)COLeh
12 Jun 64 to 15 Aug 65Group Captain Walter Vernon Alexander Lloyd2623 F(P)COLeh
12 Sep 65 to 01 Jun 66Group Captain Kashinath Baburao Joshi2427 GD(P)COLeh
09 Aug 66 to 11 Sep 67Group Captain Harbans Singh Monga3162 F(P)COLeh
19 Sep 67 to 29 Mar 68Group Captain Peter Maynard Wilson3590 F(P)COLeh
04 Apr 68 to 25 Jun 69Group Captain Shanti Swarup Enand1989 GD(O)COLeh
05 Jul 69 to 17 Aug 70Group Captain Sudhindra Kumar Majumdar3484 F(P)COLeh
18 Aug 70 to 07 Nov 71Group Captain Prabhakar Shanker Dere3883 F(P)COLeh/ Jallandhar
08 Nov 71 to 06 Apr 74Group Captain Subodh Chandra Gajjar4008 F(N)COJallandhar/ Srinagar
20 May 74 to 29 Feb 76Group Captain Alexander Puthenpurackal Jacob4118 F(N)COSrinagar
01 Jun 76 to 19 Jul 76Wing Commander Sube Singh Malik4663 F(P)COSrinagar
20 Jul 76 to 12 Feb 78Group Captain Sube Singh Malik4663 F(P)COSrinagar
17 Apr 78 to 12 Apr 79Group Captain William George Beddoe4686 F(P)COSrinagar
01 Apr 80 to 20 Sep 80Group Captain Ranbir Singh5088 F(N)COSrinagar
09 Mar 81 to 14 Feb 83Group Captain Dhan Singh Nagi5305 F(P)COSrinagar
15 Feb 83 to 31 Jul 85Group Captain Mohinder Paul5126 F(P)COSrinagar
06 Jun 86 to 23 Mar 88Group Captain Darshan Singh Basra6519 F(P)COSrinagar
24 Mar 88 to 25 Mar 90Group Captain Jagjeet Singh Rahil9452 F(P)COSrinagar
26 Mar 90 to 09 Feb 92Group Captain Narendrajit Singh Rishi9025 F(P)COSrinagar
10 Feb 92 to 07 Feb 94Group Captain Biraja Prasad Patnaik8754 F(P)COSrinagar
22 Apr 94 to 31 Jul 95Group Captain Apparanda Mudapa Ganapathy9759 F(P)COSrinagar
01 Aug 95 to 11 Aug 97Group Captain Mohinder Pal Singh Gill13604 F(P)COSrinagar
01 Oct 97 to 16 Apr 00Group Captain Jai Ramdas Shirpurkar14298 F(P)COSrinagar
17 Apr 00 to 09 Oct 02Group Captain Jugal Kumar Bhuyan14115 F(P)COSrinagar
10 Oct 02 to 09 Nov 03Group Captain Rakesh Kumar Negi15869 F(P)COSrinagar
10 Nov 03 to 30 Jun 06Group Captain Sandip Banerjee15892 F(P)COSrinagar
01 Jul 06 to 30 Sep 07Group Captain Rajesh Isser16968 F(P)COSrinagar
01 Oct 07 to 04 Jun 09Group Captain Wunnava Venkata Rama Rao18111 F(P)COSrinagar
30 Jun 09 to 23 Aug 10Group Captain Sunil Kumar17713 F(P)COSrinagar
24 Aug 10 to 25 Sep 11Group Captain Kanthalloor Saraswathy Kumar Suresh18822 F(P)COSrinagar
13 May 13 to 13 Oct 14Group Captain Rohit Chandra21564 F(P)COSrinagar
17 Jun 16 to 27 Jan 18Group Captain Vineet Aggarwal21038 F(N)COSrinagar
28 Jan 18 to 06 May 18Group Captain P VenkateshwarluCOSrinagar

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.