23 Equipment Depot

Location : Avadi
23 Equipment Depot at Avadi (Chennai) dates back to World War II. Christened in December 1944 as 337 Maintenance Units under the Royal Indian Air Force, it functioned as a Supply Point and a Storage Depot for South-East Asia. It was renamed twice over as No. 3 Equipment Depot in September 1947 and 23 Equipment Depot in March 1966.
Unit previously existed as 3 ED

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Mar 66 to 09 Nov 66Group Captain Alexander Joseph Henry Sathyanathan1643 A&SDStn CdrAvadi
10 Dec 66 to 31 Dec 69Group Captain Gurdial Singh Paul1941 ADMStn CdrAvadi
16 Jan 70 to 04 Jun 72Group Captain Hiranand Nandiram Mansukhani1571 ADMStn CdrAvadi
15 Jul 72 to 25 May 74Group Captain Sambasivan Sundaram2420 LGSStn CdrAvadi
01 Aug 74 to 15 Nov 76Group Captain Hari Vinayak Phatak2088 ADMStn CdrAvadi
16 Nov 76 to 01 Jan 79Group Captain Ram Lalji Bhalla3679 ADMStn CdrAvadi
26 Mar 79 to 22 Dec 80Group Captain Brij Bhushan Sharma4095 ADMStn CdrAvadi
05 Jan 81 to 02 Dec 83Group Captain Chaman Lal Anand Malik4833 ADMStn CdrAvadi
03 Dec 83 to 25 Nov 84Group Captain Debabrata Choudhury4759 ADMStn CdrAvadi
26 Nov 84 to 25 Apr 86Air Commodore Debabrata Choudhury4759 ADMAOCAvadi
10 Jun 86 to 31 Aug 89Air Commodore Hemachandra Sathpathy5518 ADMAOCAvadi
01 Sep 89 to 31 Dec 90Air Commodore Mirnal Kanti Som5637 ADMAOCAvadi
01 Jan 91 to 26 Jan 92Air Commodore Kumud Kishore Jain5810 ADMAOCAvadi
27 Jan 92 to 30 Sep 93Air Commodore Kadavil Ravivaraman Radhakrishnan6162 ADMAOCAvadi
01 Oct 93 to 28 Feb 95Air Commodore Shailendra Shankar Saxena7512 ADMAOCAvadi
01 Mar 95 to 30 Sep 96Air Commodore Trilok Chand8047 ADMAOCAvadi
01 Oct 96 to 01 Feb 98Air Commodore Ramesh Chandra Mahadik8570 ADMAOCAvadi
18 Feb 98 to 31 Jul 99Air Commodore Narayan Sivaramakrishnan11084 ADMAOCAvadi
01 Aug 99 to 31 Jul 01Air Commodore Naiyer Iqbal Razzaqui9642 ADMAOCAvadi
01 Aug 01 to 28 Nov 02Air Commodore Harendrajit Singh Garkal11780 ADMAOCAvadi
29 Nov 02 to 31 Dec 04Air Commodore Sudip Mondal12164 ADMAOCAvadi
13 Jan 05 to 06 Aug 06Air Commodore Ashok Kumar13225 ADMAOCAvadi
07 Aug 06 to 14 Apr 08Air Commodore Gudipudi Rajendra Prasad13236 ADMAOCAvadi
15 Apr 08 to 05 Feb 09Air Commodore Rajagopal Sitaraman14713 ADMAOCAvadi
06 Apr 09 to 08 Nov 10Air Commodore Herikudru Babu Rajaram14939 ADMAOCAvadi
10 Nov 10 to 30 Nov 11Air Commodore Chandalingappa Sannachandappa Havaldar16256 ADMAOCAvadi
01 Dec 11 to 21 Dec 13Air Commodore Pradeep Padmakar Bapat17227 ADMAOCAvadi
30 Dec 13 to 31 May 16Air Commodore Pichai Ramesh17060 ADMAOCAvadi
01 Jun 16 to 31 Oct 18Air Commodore Amarjeet Ahuja17743 ADMAOCAvadi
01 Nov 18 to 04 Jul 19Air Commodore Jonnalagaddar Rajendra18150 ADMAOCAvadi
05 Jul 19 to 23 May 21Air Commodore Dinesh Singh Dagar18323 ADMAOCAvadi
24 May 21 to Air Commodore ----------------99999 AOCAvadi

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.