1 Air Defence Control Centre

Date Raised : 1966-10-15 Location : Delhi
ADCC is a premier Air Defence Units of HQ WAC which came into being on 26 Dec 62 at Ambala as No 1 Air Defence Area with Air Cmde JC Verma DFC, being its founder commander. During its infancy, the ADA had five sector operation centres employing one type 21, one type 15 and three ANTPSIE radars. Subsequent to the Chinese debacle, the air defence of the country was given a big boost with the help of US aid in the form of Star Sapphire radars. Consequently No 1 ADA was redesignated on 15 Oct 66 as No 1 Air Defence Control Centre. The Units was made responsible for the air defence of the entire area of responsibility of WAC. Over the years, ADCC moved from Ambala to Delhi to be co-located with HQ, WAC. The position of AOC, ADCC is also known as AD Cdr
Unit previously existed as 1 ADA

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
Unknown to Air Commodore Charandas Gurudas Devashar1867 F(P)AOCAmbala
01 Mar 69 to 14 Aug 70Air Commodore Madhav Bhawrao Naik1874 F(P)AOCAmbala
Unknown to Air Commodore Surinder Singh3009 F(P)AOCAmbala
01 May 88 to 28 Feb 90Air Vice Marshal Trilochan Singh5043 F(P)AOCDelhi
Unknown to Air Vice Marshal Tushar Sen6006 F(P)AOCDelhi
Unknown to Air Vice Marshal Man Mohan Singh Vasudeva6128 F(P)AOCDelhi
Unknown to 31 Dec 95Air Vice Marshal Vinod Patney6125 F(P)AOCDelhi
01 Jan 96 to 01 Jul 97Air Vice Marshal Milind Shankar6130 F(P)AOCDelhi
Unknown to 17 Aug 98Air Vice Marshal Manpreet Singh Brar8715 F(P)AOCDelhi
17 Aug 98 to Air Vice Marshal Tej Mohan Asthana7672 F(P)AOCDelhi
01 Sep 00 to 31 Aug 02Air Vice Marshal Babu Ajit Kumar Shetty10110 F(P)AOCDelhi
Unknown to Air Vice Marshal Ajit Vishwanath Vaidya11848 F(P)AOCDelhi
Unknown to 30 Nov 09Air Vice Marshal Madhusudhan Banerjee13400 F(P)AOCDelhi
Unknown to Air Vice Marshal Suneet Shripad Soman14681 F(P)AOCDelhi
Unknown to Air Vice Marshal Raghunath Nambiar16378 F(P)AOCDelhi
Unknown to Air Vice Marshal Harjit Singh Arora16557 F(P)AOCDelhi
Unknown to 31 Jul 19Air Vice Marshal Mohan Kumar Rao17343 F(P)AOCDelhi
01 Aug 19 to Air Vice Marshal Shiv Ratan Singh18083 F(P)AOCDelhi
Unknown to Air Vice Marshal Inderpal Singh Walia19518 F(P)AOCDelhi

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.