Awardee List for the TTW Begumpet

A total of 1 Awards are listed.
Shaurya Chakra : 1 |
Shaurya Chakra
Sgt Sani Desing Deverajan 202852 ORUnit : TTW Begumpet  Award Date 03 Feb 67 Announced 26 Jan 68
Details :

On 3rd February 1967, two Flight Cadets were authorized to carry out circuits and landings in a Dakota aircraft at a Transport Training Wing. Sergeant Seni Desingh Devarajan, NCO in charge of the crash crew on duty, saw the aircraft swinging off the runway on its take off run. Anticipating a crash, he alerted his crew and reached the spot immediately. Both the engines of the aircraft had fallen off from the mountings and one of them which was on fire was very near the aircraft. Disregarding his personal safety, Sergeant Devarajan entered the crashed aircraft. The nose section was completely broken and both the flight cadets were trapped in their seats. With great care, he, with the help of another airman extricated the two cadets from the aircraft within minutes. His prompt action was to a large extent responsible for saving the life of one of the cadets; the other cadet succumbed to his injuries.

In this action, Sergeant Seni Deslngh Devarajan displayed cool courage and initiative.

Reference: Gazette of India , 6th April 1968 - No.28 - Pres/68 dated 26th January 1968 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.