Awardee List for the AFS Suratgarh

A total of 2 Awards are listed.
Vishist Seva Medal : 2 |
Vishist Seva Medal
Gp Capt Anjan Kumar Gogoi 13382 F(P)Unit : AFS Suratgarh  Award Date 26 Jan 02 Announced 26 Jan 02
Details :

Group Captain Anjan Kumar Gogoi (13382) F (P) was commissioned on 02 Jun 73 in the fighter stream of the IAF. With over 3000 hours of flying, he is a Qualified Flying Instructor and a Fighter Combat Leader. He has been the Commanding Officer of a MiG- 21 MF Squadron, Commanding Officer of 1 Air Combat Simulator unit, Chief Operations Officer at Air Force Station Tezpur and Command Air Defence Officer of a Eastern Air Command. He is a graduate of the Defence Services Staff College and has undergone the Senior Defence Management and Higher Command courses.

He took over command of Air Force Station Suratgarh on 21 Jun 99 during Operation Safed Sagar. With his professional acumen he took stock of the situation and quickly fine-tuned the station to full operational readiness. His dynamic leadership infused confidence and enthusiasm among all personnel to undertake any commitment. In Feb 2000 during the joint Army/Air Force exercise 'Vijay Chakra' he successfully executed every commitment with precision. Over 1200 Air Force and Army personnel inducted for the exercise from various units were provided every possible support in achieving their objectives. 350 sorties were successfully flown both by day and night by fighters, transport and helicopters from the base. Through the period of his tenure the two units of 35 Wing flew more than 10,000 sorties with an accident free record.

With his motivational skills he inspired the station personnel to achieve excellence. 2209 Squadron was adjudged the best Pechora Squadron of the IAF in 1999. 23 Squadron achieved 100% serviceability between 6-8 Jul 99 and 104(H) Squadron achieved 100% serviceability between 11 Feb and 22 Feb 2000. The serviceability and flying hours achieved by both the squadrons is one of the highest in Western Air Command. During the Directorate of Air Staff Inspection of Air Force Station Suratgarh, in Feb-Mar 2001 produced excellent results in all disciplines.

For his professional competence, exemplary leadership qualities and distinguished service of high order, the Hon'ble President is pleased to award 'Vishisht Seva Medal' to Group Captain Anjan Kumar Gogoi.

Reference: Gazette of India Notification Dated : 26 Jan 2002 Number: 

Vishist Seva Medal
Gp Capt Jasbir Singh Walia 15684 F(P)Unit : AFS Suratgarh  Award Date 26 Jan 05 Announced 26 Jan 05
Details :

Group Captain Jasbir Singh Walia, VM (15684) Flying (Pilot) was commissioned on 15 Jun 1979 in the Flying branch of the IAF. During his 25 years of service he has held various important appointments including Commanding Officer of a Fighter Squadron, Staff Officer to AOC-in-C WAC and CAC, Staff Officer to the Vice Chief of Air Staff, Qualified Flying Instructor, Staff Member at Tactics and Combat Development Establishment (TACDE) and Joint Director (Tactical Operations) at Air HQ. He has been awarded VM in 2000 and AOC-in-C commendation twice in 1982 and 1996. Presently, he is Station Commander of a Fighter Base since 16 Oct 2002.

During his present tenure as Station Commander, the Base has won many laurels. The Base achieved a unique double distinction of a completely accident free record and at the same time achieving the maximum flying effort by both the local Type 75 and Attack Helicopter squadrons. In the area of maintenance, the Wing boasted an enviable technical error-free record while maintaining the highest serviceability rates for a Type 75 Squadron. He was also instrumental in improving a great degree, leading to higher motivation levels among its personnel.

The performance of the Station during the inspection by DASI was uniformly high. As a special mention, DASI had praised the leadership displayed by Gp Capt Walia. The Station was recognised as one of the best Flying Wings of the Western Air Command and was nominated to represent WAC in the competition to select the "Best Flying Wing" in the IAF.

For his distinguished service of a high order, the Hon'ble President is pleased to award 'Vishisht Seva Medal' to Group Captain Jasbir Singh Walia.

Reference: Gazette of India Notification Dated : 26 Jan 2005 Number: 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.