Awardee List for the ADRDE

A total of 1 Awards are listed.
Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry) : 1 |
Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry)
Sqn Ldr Deepak Balachandra Ajgaonkar 13413 LOGSUnit : ADRDE  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 87
Details :

Squadron Leader Deepak Balachandra Ajgaonkar, Parachute Jumping Instructor, has been posted to Aerial Delivery Research & Development Establishment, Agra as a Free Fall Qualified Parachute Jump Instructor with effect from 9 Jan 85. He has to his credit a total of 841 parachute descents inclusive of 285 free falls.

In Apr 85, he was assigned the task of completing an on­going Research and Development project in which Aircrew Parachute Chest Type was to be modified for fitment of an automatic opening device and also to carry out a first ever live trial of an emergency Aircrew Chest Type Parachute. He pursued the aim with extreme dedication and ingenuity. He was instrumental in redesigning the harness to incorporate a back type reserve and also in designing a jettisonable helmet mounted face guard for carrying out the liver trial for this very purpose.

On 29 Apr 86, he successfully carried out the first ever live trial of a chest type aircrew emergency parachute. This trial was the first in the world as per the literature available with the R&D organization. Due to the inherent risk involved, live trials of emergency parachutes are not recommended to be carried out anywhere in the world. Air Headquarters desired that at least one live trial jump should be conducted to instill confidence amongst future potential users, such as different types of aircrew of various types of transport aircraft. Sqn Ldr DB Ajgaonkar volunteered to undertake this pioneering feat which could have caused grave danger to his life.

For this first ever successful courageous attempt, dedication to duty and fruitful utilization of professional skill, the President is pleased to award Vayu Seva Medal to Squadron Leader Deepak Balachandra Ajgaonkar.

Reference: Gazette of India dated 25th April 1987 - No.37-Pres/87 dated 26th January 1987 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.