Awardee List for the 414 AFS Yelahanka

A total of 2 Awards are listed.
Vayu Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty) : 1 | Vishist Seva Medal : 1 |
Vayu Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty)
Gp Capt Gurinder Pal Singh 15417 F(P)Unit : AFS Yelahanka  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 08
Details :

Group Captain Gurinder Pal Singh (15417) Flying (Pilot) was commissioned on 07 July 1978. In 29 years of distinguished service, he has held several prestigious appointments that include Air Force Examiner on AN-32, Avro and Kiran aircraft at Aircrew Examining Board, CO HQ Central Air Command Communication Flight, Directing Staff at DSSC, DDPO (Transports) at Air HQ, Chief Operation Officer (COO) at AF Station Agra and CO of an AN-32 Squadron prior to his present appointment as the Chief Instructor at Fixed Wing Training Faculty (FWTF), AF Station Yelahanka.

He is an A-2 flying instructor. His leadership by example and management style were inspirational in stimulating his subordinates towards achieving higher goals and objectives. This is evident from the fact that a small unit like HQ CAC Comn Flt, under his command produced ten Qualified Flying and Navigation instructors. While in command of an AN32 Squadron, he simultaneously performed duties of COO at AF Stn Agra for almost a year. He once again exhibited the same zeal and professionalism in building up the ops status of the unit and achieved higher than the stated goals in the special role and formation flying.

He took over as Chief Instructor FWTF on 19 July 2004. His unflinching passion for excellence and professionalism was evident from the fact that in Jan 05, amidst hectic preparations for the Aero India, he wrote a service paper on review of transport pilot training at Yelahanka that effected in reduction in training duration by six months, despite an increase in solo content. The reviewed syllabi led to improvement in operational status and manning levels of the transport fleet due to early availability of transport pilots. This also facilitated increase in intake of transport pilot trainees, thereby complementing the long term induction plan of the IAF.

Under his leadership, the FWTF flew a mammoth 13,160 hrs in the year 2005, the highest ever by the faculty at Yelahanka. However, this record was surpassed in 2006 by flying 13,765 hrs, another remarkable feat. He is a systematic and meticulous individual himself, demanded high standards and exactitude in all spheres of flying activity, which resulted in award of the 'Training Command Flight Safety Trophy' to FWTF for the year 2004-05 and 2005-06, in succession. This was accomplished despite ongoing runway, tarmac and associated works services for Aero India 2005 and 2007. He was also instrumental in ensuring a sound Tarmac Management and a methodical Static Display during Aero India 2005 and 2007. His proactive participation in almost all spheres contributed significantly in smooth conduct of both the Air Shows.

For his exceptional devotion to duty, consummate leadership and exemplary professionalism, Hon'ble President is pleased to award 'Vayu Sena Medal' to Group Captain Gurinder Pal Singh.

Reference: Gazette of India dated 10th November 2008. No. 34-Pres/2008 dated 26th January 2008 

Vishist Seva Medal
Gp Capt Pradeep Ranjan Sinha 16257 ADMUnit : AFS Yelahanka  Award Date 26 Jan 08 Announced 26 Jan 08
Details :

Group Captain Pradeep Ranjan Sinha (16257) Adm/ATC was commissioned on 13 Dec 80 in the Administrative Branch of IAF. In 26 years of distinguished service, he has held several important Command and Staff appointments that include Directing Staff at Air Force Academy, Air Force Examiner at Air HQ and CO of Airmen Selection Centre.

Safe recoveries of aircraft in adverse weather and critical emergencies has been the forte of Gp Capt PR Sinha. Over a period of time he has established himself as an icon in the controllers' fraternity. He carved a niche for himself in IAF by achieving ATC Category "Aye" as a Flight Lieutenant, which is a rare feat. He redefined professional standards by incorporating several innovative methods to enhance quality of training and inculcated high moral and professional values in Air Traffic Controllers, earning unprecedented respect from the entire Controllers' fraternity and was the first recipient of Best ATS Trophy in 2000.

With astute planning, meticulous attention to details, and expeditious resolution of complex problems, Gp Capt PR Sinha, as Chief Administrative Officer brought about immeasurable improvements in quality of life at Air Force Station, Yelahanka and provided new purpose and direction to the Admin Support Group. He excelled during the Biennial International Aero India exposition by compressing weeks work into days and exhibited professionalism of highest order towards successful conduct of the mega event. Ensuring the very critical and sensitive Security and Disaster management preparedness of highest order; speedy completion of infrastructure works, six-laning of NH-7 works, operationalisation of two borewells to meet acute water shortage and addition of a state of the art Bus stand are some of his achievements during the international exposition. He was omnipresent, coordinating VVIP/VIP visits, traffic, danger spots for crowd control and was instrumental in quick clearance of runway when situation demanded professional intervention following an aircraft accident during AI-07. A composed professional with ability to excel under stress, he ensured stupendous success of Aero India 2007, an event which was conducted at a level very different from the previous expositions and brought laurels and appreciation for the IAF.

For his distinguished service of high order, Hon'ble President is pleased to award 'Vishisht Seva Medal' to Group Captain Pradeep Ranjan Sinha.

Reference: Gazette of India Notification Dated : 26 Jan 2008 Number: 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.