Awardee List for the 2214 Sqn

A total of 2 Awards are listed.
Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry) : 1 | Mention in Despatches : 1 |
Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry)
Cpl Bhushan Kumar Prashar 735702 ORUnit : No.2214 Squadron  Award Date 22 Oct 01 Announced 15 Aug 02
Details :

735702 Corporal Bhushan Kumar Prashar IAF/P is on the posted strength of Air Force Station, Awantipora since 06 Aug 2001.

On 22 Oct 2001, at 1330 hrs. four Pakistani terrorist belonging to Laskar-e-Toiba who were heavily armed, attacked the main gate of Air Force Station, Awantipora. Their aim was to gain access inside the Air Force Station and create havoc by destroying Aircraft, Missile Complexes and to create panic amongst personnel and families. The terrorists were armed with AK-47 rifles and high explosive hand grenades.

At that time of attack, Cpl Prashar was on duty as Desk NCO i/c at the Main Guard Room. On hearing the attack at the Main Guard Room he immediately informed all concerned through wireless. He took a strategic position just outside the Main Guard Room and crawled upto BSF LMG post and opened fire towards the terrorists. He continued to direct the others around the post to fire towards the terrorists and displayed a high degree of professional maturity in the whole operation. He held on the post till the time of the enemy was eliminated and neutralized. Had the terrorists gained access inside the station it would have been catastrophic for the Air Base. But for this act of bravery and devotion to duty, this stupendous work would not have been a success. Cpl Prashar displayed exceptional courage and acted in the best traditions of the Air Warriors of the Indian Air Force.

For displaying conspicuous valour and risking his life while eliminating the terrorists, the Hon'ble President is pleased to award 'Vayu Seva Medal' (Gallantry) to 735702 Corporal Bhushan Kumar Prashar.

Reference: Gazette of India dated 16th November 2002 - No.145-Pres/2002 dated 15th August 2002 

Mention in Despatches
Wg Cdr Ravinathan 16639 F(P)Unit : No.2214 Squadron  Award Date Announced 15 Aug 99
Details :
Citation Not Available
Reference: Gazette of India No.28 - Pres/2000 dated 11th March 2000 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.