Awardee List for the 20 Wing

A total of 2 Awards are listed.
Vayu Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty) : 1 | Vishist Seva Medal : 1 |
Vayu Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty)
Gp Capt Rajinder Singh 13980 F(P)Unit : 20 Wing  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 99
Details :

Group Captain Rajinder Singh (13980) Flying (Pilot) commanded a Fighter Squadron, AF from 23 January 95 to 25 November 96. He is presently posted as COO of a fighter base. He is an experienced Qualified Flying Instructor and has flown over 5000 sorties of accident free flying.

During his tenure as Commanding Officer, the Squadron flew about 8300 sorties without a single flying accident. The excellent managerial skill of the officer is evident from the fact that despite the aircraft being very old, the Squadron achieved 100% serviceability on eight different occasions during which all aircraft were flown. This indeed was a unique achievement. He also conducted permanent move of his Squadron to another base. The move was meticulously planned and executed in such a way that the Squadron commenced full-fledged flying within 72 hours at the new location. For all these achievements his Squadron was adjudged the Best Fighter Squadron in the Command in 1996-97.

As COO, the officer has led from the front and shown a rare sense of drive and total involvement to provide a safe flying environment. He has ensured that the airfield environment is maintained at a very high operational standard. Inspite of the runway surface being in a bad state, his close supervision has ensured that there has not been a single FOD. Also there has been no instance of a bird hit in the last year and a half. The operational performance of the Wing during DASI and CASI visits has been exceptional. The Wing was also declared the Best Operational Wing of the Command for 1996-97.

For his exceptional qualities of leadership, initiative, dedication to service, his continued high performance and constant endeavour to achieve excellence in all areas, the Hon'ble President is pleased to award 'Vayu Sena Medal' to Group Captain Rajinder Singh.

Reference: Gazette of India dated 29th May 1999 - No.91-Pres/99 dated 26th January 1999 

Vishist Seva Medal
Sqn Ldr Thoppil Behanan Mathew 17111 AE(L)Unit : 20 Wing  Award Date 26 Jan 98 Announced 26 Jan 98
Details :

Squadron Leader TB Mathew (17111) AE (L) is on the posted strength of No. 20 Wing since 04 Feb 96. He has been working as Senior Engineer (Aircraft) and handling the Tech Flight for T-77 aircraft. During this period both the T-77 squadrons namely 8 and 52 squadrons achieved 100% serviceability on a number of occasions. A unique achievement was that both the squadrons achieved 100% service ability on the same day in Mar 96 and all aircraft were flown. The average fleet service ability itself has been maintained at approx 85%.

Due to the in-depth snag analysis and rectification carried out under his supervision, there has been a large reduction in AOG demands. The officer was also instrumental in the modification for fitment of an after burner fuel pump of R-11 engine to R-13 engine of Type 69-B aircraft. He has computerised all the activities of MCC. His managerial capabilities were evident during the move of 52 Squadron in scheduling and executing the servicing of aircraft and later in the move of the squadron Tech Flight element from 20 Wing to 14 Wing. This move was executed very smoothly and resulted in the unit starting its flying in full swing at the next Stn. within 72 hours.

Squadron Leader Mathew has maintained a clean maintenance safety record in doing all his tasks. The officer has used his exceptional professional knowledge to advantage in various maintenance activities. He has shown clarity of thought, sound decision making capability and exemplary initiative. His relentless efforts resulted in 20 Wing being declared as Best in Maintenance in EAC for 1995-96.

For his exceptional professionalism and dedication to duty, the President is pleased to award "Vishisht Seva Medal" to Squadron Leader T B Mathew.

Reference: Gazette of India Notification Dated : 26 Jan 1998 Number: 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.