Awardee List for the 14 Wing

A total of 1 Awards are listed.
Vayu Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty) : 1 |
Vayu Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty)
Air Cmde Charanjit Singh Gill 11645 F(P)Unit : 14 Wing  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 98
Details :

Group Captain Charanjit Singh Gill VSM (11645) Flying (Pilot) was commissioned as a fighter pilot on 2nd June, 1968. During his long and meritorious service, he gained high operational status on Hunter, MiG-21M and MiG-23BN aircraft. He commanded a MiG23BN Squadron and was Chief Operations Officer of a major fighter base. Group Captain Charanjit Singh Gill is also a graduate of the Air Command and Staff College, USA. He was appointed Station Commander, Air Force Station, Chabua in August 1995. This base was descaled in 1992 and had been denuded of aircraft, equipment and manpower. He was entrusted with the task of reactivating the base for fighter aircraft operations. He had an extremely difficult task considering that the buildings and other infrastructure had deteriorated considerably due to lack of maintenance. The extreme weather conditions, high humidity and excessive rainfall added to the decay of assets at Chabua. He took little time to understand the ground realities and swung into action to make the base operational within the scheduled time frame. With his managerial and professional acumen he had recovered almost all the assets with minimum financial drain. This resulted in smooth induction of two fighter squadrons and a GCA unit in a very short time. Under his able guidance and dynamic leadership, the flying units at his station were able to achieve their tasks well ahead of laid down time schedules. His foresight resulted in creating maintenance infrastructure capable of providing high quality output. This had a direct bearing on flight safety and achievements by both the flying units.

An astute administrator, he was instrumental in initiating many new projects at the Station to improve the quality of life. His drive and involvement was always evident in all areas of station activities.

For his leadership, zeal, professionalism and distinguished services of an exceptional order, the President is pleased to award 'Vayu Sena Medal' to Group Captain Charanjit Singh Gill.

Reference: Gazette of India dated 14th March 1998 - No.29-Pres/98 dated 26th January 1998 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.