Awardee List for the 12 FBSU

A total of 2 Awards are listed.
Vayu Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty) : 1 | Vishist Seva Medal : 1 |
Vayu Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty)
Gp Capt Madhusudan Banerjee 13400 F(P)Unit : 12 Forward Base Support Unit  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 03
Details :

Air Commodore Madhusudan Banerjee VSM (13400) F (P) was commissioned in the Indian Air Force on 02 June 1973. He has held several important command and staff appointments that include Directing Staff at TACDE, command of a MiG-27 fighter squadron and command of an ADDC. He is a Qualified Flying Instructor, a graduate of DSSC and an electronic warfare expert. He was awarded VSM in 1999 for distinguished service. Air Cmde Banerjee has been the Station Commander of a front line flying Station since 26 Dec 2000. In this period, the officer has exhibited top leadership qualities, and with personal motivation and dedication he has ensured a very high state of operational preparedness of the Station. Serviceability state of the aircraft and other technical assets of the Station has perpetually remained high. A striking feature of the officer's achievement has been his ability to achieve results at minimal cost and through ingenious methods and innovative ideas. The Station security, which has always remained threatened due to proximity to Rann of Kutch, has been ensured through well thought out security measures, constant vigil and with the availability of an agile and ready counter force.

The Station had to bear the extra squadron for over an year, post 26 Jan 2001 earthquake, which rendered the neighbouring airfield of Bhuj in a despicable state, necessitating shift of fighter squadron. The Station managed the extra task admirably and sustained the morale of all its personnel at a height level through practical welfare measures and team spirit. The flight safety record of the Station has been noteworthy with all around attention being paid to safe operation through aircrew indoctrination, better time management and sound supervision. On declaration of 'Op Parakraman' the Station ensured smooth induction of additional forces and through proper handling and proactive approach the Station reached the requisite preparedness within the shortest possible time.

For exceptional devotion to duty, the Hon'ble President is pleased to award 'Vayu Sena Medal' to Air Commodore Madhusudan Banerjee VSM.

Reference: Gazette of India dated 22nd March 2003 - No.43-Pres/2003 dated 26th January 2003 

Vishist Seva Medal
WO Gaya Prasad 271994 ORUnit : 12 Forward Base Support Unit  Award Date 26 Jan 99 Announced 26 Jan 99
Details :

On 09 Jun 98, cyclone had hit the station with the wind speed exceeding 200 kms/h. Met forecast of a likely cyclone was received a day earlier and WO Gaya Prasad motivated

his team of airmen to take all precautions including shifting of stores to minimize the damage to stores.

On the day of the cyclone most of the covered plinths, Nissan huts and security wall on one side of bomb dump collapsed. Immediately on subsiding of the cyclone, at about 1300 hrs, WO Gaya Prasad took stock of the situation from the point of view of safety and security of missile explosives and ammunition. Since the demolition stores building was in the vicinity of collapsed boundary wall, WO Gaya Prasad, with his team of airmen shifted demolition stores to a safer place. The Nissan hut, where small arms and ammunition were stored had also collapsed. WO Gaya Prasad shifted all small ammunition weighing about 20 tonnes to Station Armoury within one day despite limited manpower.

Warrant Officer Gaya Prasad, with his experience and leadership retrieved the war stores and prevented further damage/ deterioration. He opened war stores, drained out the water and made them safe. Thus, with the help of a handful of airmen of the bomb dump, he saved explosive stores worth several hundred crores of rupees.

For his dedication, untiring enthusiasm, foresight, professional skill and total involvement, the President is pleased to award 'Vishisht Seva Medal' to WO Gaya Prasad.

Reference: Gazette of India Notification Dated : 26 Jan 1999 Number: 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.