Vir Chakra Awardee List for the AFS Ambala

A total of 1 Awards are listed.
Vir Chakra : 1 |
Vir Chakra
Flt Lt Leslie Richard Dickinson Blunt 1994 GD(P)Unit : AFS Ambala  Award Date 02 Mar 48 Announced 20 Nov 50
Details :

Flt. Lt. (now Wg. Cdr.) Leslie Richard Dickenson Blunt (1994) was one of the first ‘SPITFIRE’ Pilots to land at Srinagar when it was surrounded by enemy and about to fall. He operated with zeal and vigour and thus helped to throw back the enemy from the gates of Srinagar. In every short space of time, this officer carried out 23 operational sorties against the enemy and achieved remarkable results.

He stood out amongst his pilots for his keen enthusiasm and dash. His bombing and gunnery helped to break up many enemy advances at crucial moments.

For the excellent results achieved by him during the Air Operations over the outskirts of Srinagar, he has been awarded the Vir Chakra.

Reference: Gazette of India , 20th November 1950 - No.13 - Pres dated 15th November 1950 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.