Vishist Seva Medal Awardee List for the 30 Sqn

A total of 2 Awards are listed.
Vishist Seva Medal : 2 |
Vishist Seva Medal
Sqn Ldr Prabhakar Baburao Magdum 6549 AE(M)Unit : No.30 Squadron  Award Date 22 Jun 72 Announced 22 Jun 72
Details :

Squadron Leader Prabhakar Baburao Magdum was commissioned in the Aeronautical Engineering (Mechanical) Branch of the Indian Air Force in June, 1962. He served as an engineering officer of a Fighter Squadron before and during the operations against Pakistan in December, 1971.

He established a sound technical organisation in the Squadron for first and second line servicing. His exceptional qualities of leadership which inspired his men to maintain a very high rate of aircraft serviceability which was never less than 92% during the operations. This high rate of serviceability enabled the Squadron to fly over 300 sorties during the short period of operations.

Squadron Leader Prabhakar Baburao Magdum displayed dedication to duty, exemplary leadership, professional skill and distinguished service of a high order in the best tradition of the Indian Air Force. He is awarded the Vishisht Seva Medal.

Reference: Gazette of India Notification Dated : 22 Jun 1972 Number:85 

Vishist Seva Medal
Wg Cdr Man Mohan Sehgal 8390 F(P)Unit : No.30 Squadron  Award Date 26 Jan 84 Announced 26 Jan 84
Details :

Wing Commander Man Mohan Sehgal (8390) Flying (Pilot) was commissioned in the Air Force on 18 Apr 64. An above average fighter pilot, he is a fighter combat leader and Graduate of Defence Services Staff College. Wg Cdr MM Sehgal selected to command a MiG Squadron which was performing the role of operational Training Unit. Under his able leadership, the squadron was able to bag the following distinctions during the past year: a. Supersonic squadron of the year in the IAF. b. Best categorized supersonic squadron in the IAF. c. Eastern Air Command Gunnery Meet Championship. d. Champion in all the games in the inter-unit sports championship at the Air Force Station.

The sense of duty and professional competence of the officer had a lot to do with the squadron's winning the above laurels. For the distinguished service that he has rendered in the past year, the President is pleased to award Vishisht Seva Medal to Wg Cdr MM Sehgal.

Reference: Gazette of India Notification Dated : 26 Jan 1984 Number: 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.