Vayu Sena Medal Awardee List for the 7 BRD

A total of 1 Awards are listed.
Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry) : 1 |
Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry)
Cpl Kamdev Prasad Singh 616762 ORUnit : 7 Base Repair Depot  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 85
Details :

Corporal Kamdev Prasad Singh, IAF Police, while serving at a Base Repair Depot in 1981, displayed exemplary courage and extra-ordinary vigilance in safeguarding the men and material of his unit.

On 19 Sep 81, Cpl Singh was on patrol duty along with JWO Vallabhan, IAF Police, and others. During their patrol duty, they observed some unusual movements near the perimeter fencing. These two airmen tried to chase the trespassers. In turn the criminals who were in a group attacked them. Consequently, JWO Vallabhan received severe injuries. The criminals were about to kill JWO Vallabhan when Cpl Singh rose to the occasion. He saved the valuable life of his colleague by opening fire at the criminals, displaying great courage and devotion to duty.

For his courageous, brave and timely action in the face of a group of criminals, to save the lives of his colleagues, the President is pleased to award Vayu Seva Medal to Corporal Kamdev Prasad Singh.

Reference: Gazette of India dated 6th April 1985 - No.29-Pres/85 dated 26th January 1985 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.