Vayu Sena Medal Awardee List for the 19 Sqn

A total of 3 Awards are listed.
Vayu Sena Medal : 3 |
Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry)
Sqn Ldr Narayan Parsad Chaudhuri 4296 SIGUnit : No.19 Squadron  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 63
Details : Squadron Leader Narayan Parsad Chaudhuri was operating with one of our Transport Squadrons from June 1960 and had flown about 750 operational hours. He invariably volunteered for any difficult mission assigned to his squadron despite the flying hazards over unfamiliar mountain terrain. By his high standard of professional ability and enthusiasm, he raised the standard of communications in his Squadron to a high degree of efficiency. During the operations on our northern borders against the Chinese aggression, he carried out 10 reconnaissance sorties and 15 landings in Daulat Beg Oldi, Chushul and Fukche, showing initiative courage and devotion to duty of a high order.
Reference: Gazette of India 16th February 1963 - No. 21-Pres/63 dated 26th January, 1963 

Vayu Sena Medal
Wg Cdr Surinder Singh 4239 GD(P)Unit : No.19 Squadron  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 70
Details :

Wing Commander Surinder Singh has been commanding a transport squadron since September 1966. This squadron has been primarily responsible for the air maintenance of far-flung areas on the Northern border. Despite many difficulties, he reorganised the Squadron which enabled it to meet special commitments at short notice. He has flown over 1,500 hours in the hazardous terrain in NEFA, Naga Hills, etc. He has also undertaken numerous flights for flood relief in the country. He served with UNEF in the Congo in 1960, where he flew a number of missions in complete disregard of his safety. Throughout, Wing Commander Surinder Singh displayed courage and devotion to duty.

Reference: Gazette of India dated 25th April 1970 - No.16 - Pres/70 dated 26th January 1970 

Vayu Sena Medal
Sqn Ldr Nestor Joseph De Conceicao 5669 F(P)Unit : No.19 Squadron  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 72
Details :

Squadron Leader Nestor Joseph De Conceicao is serving as a Flight Commander in an Operational Squadron. He has flown over 5,140 hours without an accident, including 1,475 hours of instructional flying and 1,338 hours on operational missions. He has been responsible for training and supervision of pilots in the air maintenance role. Recently, on an air maintenance mission to an advanced landing ground, his aircraft had an engine failure. He took correct and timely action in the emergency and landed the aircraft safely.

Reference: Gazette of India dated 12th May 1973 - No.28 - Pres/73 dated 26th January 1972 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.