Vayu Sena Medal Awardee List for the 12 Wing

A total of 2 Awards are listed.
Vayu Sena Medal : 2 |
Vayu Sena Medal
Gp Capt Jaspal Singh 2451 GD(P)Unit : 12 Wing  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 68
Details :

As Commander of a Bomber Squadron, Group Captain Jaspal Singh led his Squadron in a commendable manner, winning many a laurel in inter­Squadron armament competitions. For five years he was connected with the Flight Safety Organisation at Air Headquarters and by his organising ability and sound technical knowledge implemented various plans. As Commander of a large multi­role station, he has successfully tackled many complex operational, training, maintenance and administrative problems. He has flown over 4000 hours without a blemish.

Throughout, Group Captain Jaspal Singh displayed professional skill and exceptional devotion to duty in the best traditions of the Indian Air Force.

Reference: Gazette of India dated 8th June 1968 - No.35 - Pres/68 dated 26th January 1968 

Vayu Sena Medal
Sqn Ldr Jatendra Kumar Dhawan 6279 AE(M)Unit : 12 Wing  Award Date Announced 26 Jan 72
Details : During the operations against Pakistan in December, 1971, Squadron Leader Jatendra Kumar Dhawan was serving as the Senior Armament Officer of an Operational Wing, which was assigned Heavy Bomber Commitment at a very short notice. Squadron Leader Jatendra Kumar Dhawan was responsible for receiving the stores and mounting armament on aircraft for the missions. He was responsible for getting the aircraft ready in time to react to the Pakistani strike on 3rd December, 1971. With complete disregard to this personal comfort, he worked round the clock and completed all the tasks assigned to him.

Throughout, Squadron Leader Jatendra Kumar Dhawan displayed profcssiona1 skill and devotion to duty.

Reference: Gazette of India dated 7th October 1972 - No.108 - Pres/72 dated 23rd September 1972 

The Awards Database presented here was made possible by the kind generosity of Air Marshal Bharat Kumar, author of Courage & Devotion to Duty : A Chronicle of IAF's Honours and Awards (1932-2008). Air Marshal Bharat Kumar had very graciously given permission to reproduce the citations from the book on this website.
The URL for this page is Here is a Clickable Link
Pages 1
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.