IAF, IA and IN Aircraft Losses Database

1986 : 32

A total of 32 Accidents and Losses are listed.

DateAircraft TypeTail NoPilot/CrewPhotoUnitRemarks
17 Jan 86 Sea King IN-508 Cdr Dhillon
NAVY 3 killed 45 km off Cohchin
21 Feb 86 Ajeet E-2021 Sqn Ldr Yashwant Rao Rane
Click to View Record 18 Sqn AFS Sulur Cr Appaniknopalli Martin Baker List
26 Feb 86 Ajeet E-1965 Air Cmde Tapas Kumar Sen
Click to View Record 2 Sqn Ejected after Engine Flameout DDK Range. The CoI f
22 Mar 86 Antonov An-32 K-2702 Wg Cdr Sureshchandra Gordhanbhai Patel +
Fg Offr Ashutosh Anant Sardespandey +
48 Sqn 17 killed Cr Kishtiwar area J&K
25 Mar 86 Antonov An-32 K-2729 Wg Cdr Ulliada Muddappa Bheemiah +
Wg Cdr Emelian Augustin Fernandez +
48 Sqn TO from Muscat Cr in sea 450 km fm Jamnagar. F/L B
27 Mar 86 Kiran HJT-16 Flt Cdt V S Mehta +
AFA Cr after TO fm Dundigal
05 May 86 MIG-25R Flt Lt Davinder Singh Kharah +
102 Sqn from Jodhpur AFB Cr 10 km at Digadi Vill
22 May 86 MiG-21 FL Fg Offr Anup Mair +
52 Sqn In Memoriam
27 May 86 Jaguar IS Flt Lt Anulya Chandra Bharali
Click to View Record Martin Baker List
04 Jun 86 MiG-21
Sirsa AFB Cr 7 km at Shajhdewanwali vill. the pi
17 Jun 86 MiG-21 Flt Lt Biswajit Nandy +
Flt Lt Rajinder Singh Bains +
101 Sqn Ambala AFB Cr Maheshnagar Cly 1 on Gd K. crashed d
17 Jun 86Unidentified F
the pilot was unable to climb or maintain height a
18 Jun 86Unidentified F
the aircraft sustained a bird hit shortly after ta
25 Jun 86 Jaguar IS Wg Cdr Mohan Kumar Prabhakar Samant +
Click to View Record 27 Sqn In Memoriam
18 Jul 86 MiG-23 BN Flt Lt Atalgatha Gundu Rao Narhari +
10 Sqn Killed in Crash - No Further Details
21 Jul 86 MiG-21 Bis Flt Lt Ashwini Kumar Agarwal +
23 Sqn In Memoriam
03 Aug 86 Chetak Lt Cdr Inderjit Saini +
Lt C O Prasad +
NAVY Sub Lt V Pimplikar K. Vizag INAS cr Simhachalam Hi
07 Aug 86 BN2 Defender IN-131
NAVY Lost off Cochin Coast
16 Aug 86 MiG-21 FL Sqn Ldr Selvaraj Raj
Click to View Record 52 Sqn ejection due to bird hit on short finals
22 Aug 86 Kiran HJT-16 Flt Lt Vijaykumar Santoshkumar Sikdar +
Flt Cdt K Srinivasa Rao
AFA Flt Cdt K Srinivasa Rao Ejected Cr Bijleepore Vill
27 Aug 86 MiG-21 Flt Lt John Devadawson +
17 Sqn Awantipur AFB Cr Anantnag Dist
04 Sep 86 MiG-21 Bis Flt Lt Anandrao Shripatrao Wagh +
26 Sqn Crash in the Pong Reservoir during 1 v 1 sortie
05 Sep 86 Ajeet E-2034 Sqn Ldr Anjan Kumar Gogoi
Click to View Record 22 Sqn quill shaft in the fuel pump had snapped.
15 Sep 86 Chetak Capt Syam Sunder +
Capt R Sibal
ARMY - 7 A Cr in chara vill Patiala 2 killed
25 Sep 86 Alize Cdr G Mukerjee +
NAVY - INA Cr in Sea off Karwar 3 Killed
30 Sep 86 Ajeet Fg Offr P Venkatarao +
2 Sqn ac lifted off prematurely, flipped on to his back
14 Oct 86 Iskra TS-11 Sqn Ldr Dushyant Kumar Laxman +
Flt Cdt Sanjay Sharma +
408 AFS Ha Cr near Bidar. Night practice diversion ,due to u
16 Oct 86 MiG-21 M Sqn Ldr Robin Shekhar Sharma
29 Sqn Cr Khajaberja 21 km fm Jamnagar Pt Killed
24 Oct 86 Deepak HPT-32 Flt Lt Pradeep Rastogi +
Flt Cdt Raja Prasad Pandey +
AFA Post an EFATO (actual not Simulated) they set up f
30 Oct 86 Canberra Wg Cdr Allandur Sulochanan Gurunathan
Click to View Record DNE. Canberra Trainer, night flight at Jaisalmer.
16 Dec 86 Kiran HJT-16 Lt S Singh
Martin Baker List
26 Dec 86Unidentified F

Pages 1

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.