Number Name Branch Died in Service? Picture?

Group Captain Nitish Kumar

Service No & Branch 19898 F(P) Stream :Helicopters

No Image Available

Date of Birth: -- --- ---- Commissioned: 17 Dec 1988 Course: 142 Course
Service End: Nick Name :
Qualifications Held :
Remarks :
Promotions Gazetted
Flt Lt : 17 Dec 1993Wg Cdr : 16 Dec 2004Gp Capt : 17 Dec 2014
Training and Other Courses Attended
73 NDA (Cadet) - 01 Dec 1987
Badges Qualified
Google the Bharat Rakshak Website for : "N Kumar"
Notes:1)Branch is at retirement and may not match with branch at Commission 2)Notional seniority is reflected in dates of substantive rank.
We do not display appointments of serving officers below rank of AVM

Awards and Decorations

Number of Awards: 1
Vayu Sena Medal (Gallantry)
Sqn LdrNitish Kumar19898 F(P)Award Date Announced 15 Aug 1999
Details :

Squadron Leader Nitish Kumar (19898-K) Flying (Pilot) is on the posted strength of a Helicopter Unit since 15 Dec 97.

During 'Op Safed Sagar', the helicopters were tasked for strike mission on enemy strongholds in Kargil & Dras sectors. Sqn Ldr Nitish Kumar was the Captain of our strike missions which targeted Tololing & Tiger Hill on 26, 27 and 28 May 99.

The attack was against heavy odds of terrain, altitude and hostile fire (including Stinger Missiles and small arms). Handling the aircraft close to the limits of its flight envelope called for not only superior flying skills but exceptional courage in view of the prevalent hostile environment. The attack was carried out fearlessly and with precision resulting in considerable damage to the intruders. The success of the attack is also attributed to the meticulous planning and preparation carried out prior to the mission. Non availability of ejection seat or force landing field implied that any hit on the heptr could be critical. Unflinching in the face of risk, he displayed immense courage and fighting spirit and undertook the task with professionalism. His enthusiasm and valour was a major contribution towards boosting the morale of the other crew in the team.

For this exceptional act of gallantry, the Hon'ble President is pleased to award 'Vayu Sena Medal' to Squadron Leader Nitish Kumar.

Unit : 152 HU
Reference : Gazette of India dated 11th March 2000 - No.27-Pres/2000 dated 15th August 2000
The data in the header section of this page comes from the Gazette of India - Click here to see the source
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.