Number Name Branch Died in Service? Picture?

Group Captain Ravinder Kumar Sharma

Service No & Branch 16050 F(P)
Date of Birth: -- --- ---- Commissioned: 15 Jun 1980 Course: 125 Course Entry Mode : NDA
Service End: Retired on 05 Jul 2010
Qualifications Held :
Remarks :
Promotions Gazetted
Sqn Ldr : 15 Jun 1991Wg Cdr : 05 May 1997Gp Capt : 01 Apr 2005
Training and Other Courses Attended
56 NDA (Cadet) - 01 Jun 1979
Badges Qualified
Google the Bharat Rakshak Website for : "R K Sharma"
Notes:1)Branch is at retirement and may not match with branch at Commission 2)Notional seniority is reflected in dates of substantive rank.

Appointments, Postings & Other Service Particulars

- Gp CaptNo.49 Squadron Commanding Officer
Incomplete Information? Additions? Corrections? Please download Template File and follow instructions.

Awards and Decorations

Number of Awards: 1
Vayu Sena Medal (Devotion to Duty)
Gp CaptRavinder Kumar Sharma16050 F(P)Award Date Announced 26 Jan 2006
Details : Group Captain Ravinder Kumar Sharma (16050) Flying (Pilot) was commissioned in the Flying Branch of the Indian Air Force on 15 Jun 1980. He is presently the Commanding officer of an AN-32 Squadron at Air Force Station Jorhat.During his 24 years of dedicated service, Gp Capt Sharma has flown 8200 accident/incident free hours on various aircraft, commanded two transport squadrons, and an Air NCC squadron. He has also held the important appointments of Flight Commander, Air Force Examiner and Qualified Flying Instructor on AN-32, HS-748. 1L-76 and DO-228 ac and is an alumnus of DSSC Wellington. He has the distinction of holding "A" Master Green Cat/lR concurrently on four different ac and the unique record of being the only pilot in the IAF to have operated to Leh and Thoise airfields in AN-32, 1L-76 and DO-228 ac.The officer has been a pioneer who carried out high altitude trials of DO-228 ac and became the first pilot to successfully land the ac at high altitude airfields of Leh, Thoise and Kargil. Landing the un-pressurised ac at such high altitude was achieved through the ingenuity, innovation and the sustained efforts of the officer in carrying out essential modifications on the ac, including enhancing ac oxygen system endurance.Gp Capt Sharma took over command of the squadron at a stage when the Sqn had been nominated for the Best Combat Sqn competition. Leading by personal example, he instilled confidence in his team and motivated them lo achieve high levels of performance. His dynamic leadership, dogged perseverance and untiring efforts resulted in the Sqn being adjudged the Best Combat Transport Sqn of IAF for the year 2004.Gp Capt Sharma has achieved commendable levels of task accomplishment in operational, maintenance and administrative aspects of the Sqn with sustained high efficiency. He has been the guiding force behind several innovations and modifications carried out by the Sqn namely, engine shock absorber extraction tool, empty fuel simulator for quantity gauge calibration, "Fasten Seat Belt" passenger warning, "Battery Failure" indication etc which will enhance operational capability, improve reliability/maintainability of the ac and-contribute significantly towards better Flight Safety of the Sqn and the IAF as a whole, besides saving substantial amount of money to the exchequer.For his exceptional devotion to duty, The Hon'ble President is pleased to award 'Vayu Sena Medal.' to Group Captain Ravinder Kumar Sharma.
Unit : 49 Sqn
Reference : Gazette of India dated 18th March 2006 - No.30-Pres/2006 dated 26th January 2006 & AFD2006 Investiture
The data in the header section of this page comes from the Gazette of India - Click here to see the source
Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.