Corps of Air Defence Artillery



This supporting arm is the youngest formation in the Army, being raised on 10 January 1994. The Army possesses one of the largest array of medium and short-range air defence systems of any army in Asia and acts as a powerful deterrent to any enemy attack aircraft. At present, CADA has two missile groups equipped with SA-6 surface-to-air missiles, assigned to the Army's three Strike Corps. In addition, there are 30 regiments with Bofors L-40/70 towed anti-aircraft guns, four regiments with 23mm ZSU-23-4 SP anti-aircraft guns and a number of regiments with 23mm ZU-23-2 anti-aircraft gun. These are complemented by a number of mobile point-defence missile regiments with SA-8b and SA-13 SAM units. Since inception, the Corps has been awarded two Ashok Chakras, two Kirti Chakras, twenty Vir Chakras, seven Shaurya Chakras, 75 Sena Medals and 151 Chief of the Army Staff's Commendation Cards. The Corps changed its designation, from Air Defence Artillery to Army Air Defence, with effect from 18 April 2005.

Home Units Corps of Air Defence Artillery