Click here to go to Home Page
Home Army Today

Organisational Structure

The Indian Army's HQ is located in New Delhi and functions under the Chief of Army Staff (COAS), currently General Deepak Kapoor, who is responsible for the command, control & administration as a whole. The Army is divided into six operational commands (field armies) and one training command, each under the command of a Lieutenant General who has an equal status to the Vice-Chief of Army Staff (VCOAS), working under the control of Army HQ in New Delhi.


Operational Commands

Each Operational Command (Field Army) functions under the leadership of the General Officer Commanding-in-Chief (GOC-in-C) of the rank of Lieutenant General. This senior officer is responsible for the efficient maintenance of the soldiers in the field and for the control & direction of their operation as a whole. He is also the commander of the demarcated geographical area and has both field & static formations under his command.


Field Formations

The Army's Field Formations explained


Copyright 2008 All Rights Reserved. Reproduction in whole or in part in any form or medium without express written permission of BHARAT RAKSHAK is prohibited. If you have any comments, then please send them to us using our Feedback Form.