Royal Indian Air Force Selection Board

Date Raised : 1947-05-01 Disbanded : 1950-01-25 Location : Dehradun
The institute was initially established as an Experimental Selection Board at Forest Research Institute, Dehradun in 1943. Subsequently, the Board was renamed as No 7 General Selection Board in March 1944, then Royal Indian Air Force Board and moved to its present location at Clement Town in Oct 1948. The board was remaned as Royal indian Air Force Selection Board. Post 26 Jan 1950, it was renamed as Air Force Selection Board. in 1962, with mysore coming up as 2 AFSB, the Units was renamed as 1 AFSB

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 May 47 to 08 Nov 47Wing Commander Kundan Lal Sondhi1566 GD(P)PresidentDehradun
09 Nov 47 to 01 Apr 49Wing Commander Anantha Ananthanarayanan1607 GD(P)PresidentDehradun
02 Apr 49 to 25 Jan 50Wing Commander Dadi Ardeshir Mehta1625 F(N)PresidentDehradun
Unit continued existence as AFSB

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.