Operational Conversion Unit

Date Raised : 1975-04-01 Disbanded : 2013-12-13 Location : Kalaikunda
On 1 October 1966 the IAF established its first Operational Training Unit (OTU) at Jamnagar with 24 Hunter aircraft (four trainers and 20 fighters) drawn from the six Hunter Mk.56 equipped squadrons, as was also the ground equipment and most of its human resources. The OTU was given a dual role: ‘training’ for which it came under HQ WAC at Palam and ‘operations’ for which it came under HQ WI (Western India) in Poona. Operational Conversion Units (OCU), The Young Ones’. On 1 Oct 66, BA313 , 02 officers (Wg Cdr Parker and Flt Lt TR Patel) and 06 airmen setup the establishment. Its purpose was to ensure the smooth transition of young pilots from training into the front line squadrons. The first intake showed up on 11 Oct 1966 and included pilots from 95 PC and were sent to squadrons on 1 May 1967. During the 1971 Indo-Pak War it operated a four aircraft detachment from Jaisalmer and was temporarily known as 122 Squadron. On the 5th December 1971 a regiment of Pakistan Army T59 Tanks crossed the border near Tanot, with the aim of capturing Jaisalmer by sun down. Following a request to help from the Indian Army, the detachment destroyed or damaged 29 tanks in 48 hours. This action stopping the enemy advance in its tracks and earning the Units the battle honour of ‘Longewala’. During the 1971 War the OCU flew 256 sorties and apart from Longewala also carried out interdiction strikes against enemy railheads and counter air strikes against airfields and radar stations. Flying training resumed in February 1972 and in April 1975 the Units moved to Kalaikunda and was renamed the OCU. It was also for most of the 80s called HOFTU (Hunter Operational Flying Training Unit). On 31st March 1991 the OCU was numberplated and all its assets were transferred to 20 Squadron. On 1st January 1998 it was resurrected at Chabua to implement the MOFT Syllabus on the MiG-21 FL/U, taking over aircraft from 20 Sqn. It moved out from Chabua to Kalaikunda in 2009. In December 2013 the OCU phased out MiG-21 FL's which it had been flying since 1998.

Aircraft Types operated over the years:
Unit previously existed as OTU

Commanding Officers

View in Grid

DatesRank & NameNumberRemarksLocationPhoto
01 Apr 75 to 15 Feb 76Wing Commander Kamal Swarup Vohra4915 GD(P)COKalaikunda
16 Feb 76 to 14 Mar 78Wing Commander Sharad Narayan Medhekar5062 GD(P)COKalaikunda
15 Mar 78 to 15 Aug 79Wing Commander Shiv Kumar Sharma5784 GD(P)COKalaikunda
16 Aug 79 to 21 Aug 80Wing Commander Narendra Lal Gupta6013 GD(P)COKalaikunda
22 Aug 80 to 21 Dec 80Wing Commander Vishnu Narain Johri5676 GD(P)COKalaikunda
22 Dec 80 to 14 Sep 83Group Captain Vishnu Narain Johri5676 GD(P)COKalaikunda
07 Nov 83 to 31 Mar 86Group Captain Norbert Joseph Misquitta5314 GD(P)COKalaikunda
01 Jun 86 to 24 Nov 88Group Captain Prakash Sadashivrao Pingale6755 GD(P)COKalaikunda
28 Nov 88 to 06 Jun 90Group Captain Sushil Kumar Sangar7680 GD(P)COKalaikunda
01 Jan 98 to 17 Feb 98Wing Commander Nasib Singh Kadian15025 F(P)COChabua
18 Feb 98 to 27 Mar 00Wing Commander Virendra Singh Chhikara15188 F(P)COChabua
28 Mar 00 to 01 Sep 02Wing Commander A LalCOChabua
02 Sep 02 to 21 Jun 04Wing Commander Jonnalagedda Chalapati17358 F(P)COTezpur
22 Jun 04 to 11 Jun 06Wing Commander Hardeep Bains19180 F(P)COTezpur
12 Jun 06 to 29 Jun 08Wing Commander P Venkata Satish19876 F(P)COChabua
08 Jun 09 to 29 May 11Wing Commander Malliyakel Joseph Augustine Vinoth21819 F(P)COKalaikunda

Note: All the data available here is publicly available in the Gazette of India, published by the Indian Government, or from public domain sources, press releases about Awards and Right-To-Information (RTI) Requests. Additionally data shared by veterans is added to the page with permission. No data with respect to serving officers below the rank of AVM is displayed. Information in Gazette of India and Award citations and photographs as released by the Indian Air Force are the only details displayed.